We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible place to stay, outrageous rates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Somerville
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Horrible place to stay, outrageous rates”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

We're not able to stay anywhere else during antiques week in this area, when most hotels jack up their prices by 200%. This place is just awful. Dirty, bad service and generally a nightmare all around. last September they had a cricket infestation and there were about 12 crickets in each of our rooms every day (we had 3 rooms). Horrible. Then they went in with an exterminator and stank the whole place up for days, we had to breathe the fumes. Beware that they charge a whopping $80 or more per night during those peak weeks, and it's just not worth it.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank touchofeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVISOMERVILLE, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was so unpleasant, however, we do appreciate all feedback both positive and negative so that we may strive to continually improve and be the best we can be. I want to inform you that we are under new management, and we strive to keep our property cleaned and well maintained at all times. We are also very focused on our guest having a good experience. I am very displeased that you did not experience good customer service previously, but I would like you to give me a call if you are ever in the area again. I think that you would be pleased with the upkeep of our hotel, as well as our dedicated staff. Thank you for your time.
Sincerely,
Leeann Carpenter, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    8
    10
    3
See reviews for
14
12
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
KS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

Clothing was stolen from room when we stayed here. Contacted manager and they had clothing and said they would send them to us C.O.D. The manager did not send them and would not let UPS pick them up either. Went back to hotel to get clothing and they would not give them to us, they had probably given them away. After 8 or 9 calls to hotel we got no articles returned to us. Poor and disownest management. They had sign up for help needed and I can see why. NEVER STAY HERE FOR ANY REASON.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank unhappyhotelstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVISOMERVILLE, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
I am sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience while staying at our hotel. I can understand you being upset about your belonging missing. I am very sorry you had to go through that. I wanted to take the time to let you know that we are under new management since your stay. Our staff is very focused on our guest having a positive stay with us, and I think if you gave us another try you would be pleased. Thank you for your time.
Sincerely,
Leeann Carpenter, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Somerville hotels

texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2008

We enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was very comfortable and the employees were all so friendly and helpful. We will definatly be back.

  • Liked — everyone and everything was so nice and inviting
  • Disliked — railroad is close
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank texashoney1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVISOMERVILLE, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Americas Best Value Inn in Somerville, Texas. I also wanted to thank you for taking your time to write a review about your experience. Please let us know if you are ever back in the area so that we may accommodate you again.
Sincerely,
Leeann Carpenter, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

We had a great weekend in Somerville the rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was skimpy.

  • Liked — Very clean
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tx_traveler_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2008

We booked a room there only because we couldn't find one anywhere else. The motel is fairly new and the room was clean, but that's the only good thing I can say about our one night stay there. The motel sits on the highway plus there is a railroad going right past it. So we were listening to honking trains all night long. The bed was very hard and pillows flat as pancakes. The toilet made a horrible snorting sound when flushed. There was a night stand and a lamp on one side of the bed, but none on the other - and no outlets either, so my husband had to use his laptop sitting at the desk at the opposite wall. The headboard of the bed was screwed into the wall (directly into the sheet rock) and threatened to fall on our heads at any moment. The motel offered free breakfast in the morning, but the choice was one of the most limited ones I've ever seen.
I guess one can tough it out there one night out of desperation, but I certainly wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank flying_diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerville
17.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 3 in Caldwell
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
15.5 mi away
Coach Light Inn Brenham
Coach Light Inn Brenham
#3 of 11 in Brenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
15.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 11 in Brenham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brenham
22.7 mi away
EZ Travel Inn
EZ Travel Inn
#29 of 36 in College Station
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 18018 SH 36 South, Somerville, TX 77879 (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Somerville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Somerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located about 20 miles from bryan/college station, in the lake somerville area. We offer our guests a non-smoking environment, free continental breakfast, an indoor heated swimming pool/spa, indoor corridors, a meeting room, and free wi-fi.all of our rooms have a microwave, mini fridge, hair dryer, and coffee makers. You can relax and enjoy the quiet country atmosphere while being in close proximity to texas a&m and the bryan/college station area. We look forward to hearing from you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Somerville
Somerville Super Eight
Somerville Super 8
Super 8 Somerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing