We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New to Area”
Review of The Shack - CLOSED

The Shack
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Snyder, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New to Area”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I have heard from other people that this place was really good. I the waitress was very friendly and took great care of us. The food was ok.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best chicken fry in texas!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

If you are driving between Abilene and Lubbock between 11am and 2pm the day of a full annular eclipse you should stop here and make your tummy happy. I've had chicken fried steak in tons of places,in many states, even worked for a del-rancho in Oklahoma city. This was the best chicken fried steak we've had, and I'm a hard critic.

The hours here suck, but the food is good. It would be worth the trip if I lived in Lubbock.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank webninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it Great”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I Love Chicken fried steak it was great you would be surprised how many places get it wrong.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is a terrible place to eat”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

While opening the doors to this old decrepit cave I got a huge and over powering whiff of Crap! My first thought other than some person just taking a dump in the waiting area, I thought it was mandatory to give up your license plate from your car. The wait staff which consisted of one tall black teenager (which unfortunately was our waitress). Her knowledge of the menu was vague, and her people skills lagged tremendously. The manager/owner should really consider making his wait staff use some sort of fragrance because our waitress smelled horrendous. Finally after eating a very below average chicken fired steak I was forced to overpay for this crappy meal. I would not recommend ever taking a step into this place.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Trey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So so chow”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I've eaten there several times during visits through the years and have found the food (straight American stuff - burgers, chicken, etc.) to be consistently average. Nothing special at all, but it won't kill you. The decor is interesting but the staff aren't particularly friendly or professional. Except for the fact there are very few sit-down eateries of this nature, I'm not sure how they've lasted as long as they have. A better bet is the (only) Pizza Inn, which, on our July 2011 visit, had lots of fresh tasty food served with a smile and in a bright atmosphere, .

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank CenTxVanDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing