We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They allow pets” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Purple Sage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Purple Sage Motel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Snyder
Certificate of Excellence
Woods of NE Tx
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“They allow pets”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

The room wasn't very clean and thankfully there was a fly swatter in the room because there were many flies. There was a big gap around the door. That being said, they allow pets and there was only one other motel in Snyder that advertised pets allowed and it's rating was worse. The breakfast was convenient for someone wanting to "get on the road". There were more expensive rooms in the back but I cannot rate them as I did not go inside. My brother-in-law's room, 2 doors down, was cleaner and did not have the fly problem. I would probably stay there again if I was travelling with a pet and not in room 120.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldnretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    19
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
16
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2008

The people at the Purple Sage Motel were very kind and helpful. When I arrived and asked about possible places to eat...they called three different restaurants to see how late they were open before I could even unpack my bags. Although the rooms are a little out of date, and some of the paint is in need of a fresh coat, the rooms are clean and comfortable.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank EmilyandJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2007

We stayed one night in transit from Carlsbad Caverns NP to Dallas and we were quite pleased with the accommodations. The beds were comfortable, the AC worked well and the room was clean. The switches for the light & fan for the shower/commode were outside the door to that room so that could play havoc with a mischievous child about. In the office there is a plethora of Christian and right wing literature available. I'm not as concerned with the religious leanings as I am with the presence of Ann Coulter hate screeds in a motel office.

  • Liked — Quiet & clean
  • Disliked — Literature in office
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank klpopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2007

From the street this motel looks like many other older motels and I have to admit I was a little concerned at first sight. They proved that first impressions can be deceiving. The rooms are well decorated, modern, and clean. The staff is very friendly. And they allow pets and even have kennels if needed. One advantage of the older building is it is well built and you don't hear your neighbors. Our experience here couldn't have been better. I made the mistake of trying one of the other hotels in town on a different trip (review available) and for our next trip to that area (I'm booking right now) I'll definitely go back to the Purple Sage.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, well kept rooms
  • Disliked — Curb appeal
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CO_Flyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2006

I stay at this motel every 3 or 4 months and have yet to be disappointed. The staff is top notch with a family type atmosphere. It is one of the cleanest "old" motels I have ever stayed in. I would higly recommend this place to anyone ever needing to stay in Snyder, TX.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank numedpick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Snyder hotels
1.2 mi away
Executive Inn
Executive Inn
#8 of 12 in Snyder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Snyder
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Snyder
Hampton Inn Snyder
#1 of 12 in Snyder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Motel 6 - Snyder, TX
Motel 6 - Snyder, TX
#11 of 12 in Snyder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Snyder
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Snyder Inn
BEST WESTERN Snyder Inn
#3 of 12 in Snyder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Sage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Sage Motel

Property: Purple Sage Motel
Address: 1501 E Coliseum Dr, Snyder, TX 79549-6255
Location: United States > Texas > Snyder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Snyder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Purple Sage Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Purple Sage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Sage Hotel Snyder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing