We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Katy House is a class act” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katy House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smithville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Katy House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Smithville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Katy House is a class act”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Beautiful old house, gracious and friendly hosts, and delicious breakfast. The Katy House is a first-rate B&B. We enjoyed exploring Smithville. After a long day of walking around town, the rocking chairs on the balcony of the Texas Special room offer a great way to relax. Other reviews have noted noise from the emergency siren and passing trains, but these things never presented a problem to us. In fact, they add to the small town charm. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Katy House!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RossTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    9
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
61
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Katy House for one night at the start of our (long!) honeymoon road trip. We loved our room and the porch/decking area was an added treat. In the morning we were delighted by an amazing home-cooked breakfast (those eggs! I won't forget them!) & freshly baked cookies, as well as great conversation. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SammiJefcoate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We picked the Katy House based on other reviews and were super happy with our choice. Check in was a breeze, our room was lovely and the rockers on the front porch were great to sit outside and read a book on a lazy afternoon (I even napped on the front porch swing). We did the walk through town to see where recent movies have been filmed and the neighborhoods are beautiful with amazing trees and old big homes. We enjoyed shopping for antiques in town, eating at the Back Door, and just relaxing. Breakfast was amazing and the chocolate chip cookies were a nice treat throughout the day. We also went to Warrenton, TX for the crazy antique show market. So many vendors, too little time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geogirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, TX
Level Contributor
245 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed recently at the Katy House for three nights. Bruce and Sallie are great conversationalists. Breakfast was very good and I enjoyed sitting and talking with them. I stayed in the Texas Room and it was very comfortable. I got a good night's sleep each night, the train never woke me up. Smithville is a very nice little town to explore. Bruce and Sallie gave us great dinner recommendations. I had a great relaxing stay at the Katy!

Room Tip: The Texas Room is big and airy, just right for one or two people. The Katy Room is also big though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fencepost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We've stayed at the Katy House several times and always enjoy our stay. It is a beautiful house with all upstairs bedrooms. The steps upstairs are very friendly though and not difficult to climb. Sallie and Bruce are gracious hosts and we would recommend their B & B without reservation. I notice that several commented on the railroad noise, but we never notice it. Try it.

Room Tip: I really preger the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our stay was short, but definitely sweet! Our room was comfortable. Yes, we did hear the train during the night and the fire siren went off in the morning (which you could probably hear in a 5 mile radius), but we were "warned" of the sounds so it wasn't a big deal. The house has a great history and Sallie and Bruce are wonderful hosts! We were treated to a delicious home-cooked breakfast and had the opportunity to learn about the house and the town. Thank you so much for your warm hospitality and we'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindyLou65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleton, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Sallie and Bruce makes you feel at home. Great time in the small town. I heard that the train but it was okay, breakfast was great and number one love the bake eggs, peppered bacon, grill toast everything was great. I would recomend this B&B tto my friend if coming to your area.

Room Tip: Check out the web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithville
10.2 mi away
Super 8 Bastrop TX
Super 8 Bastrop TX
#8 of 9 in Bastrop
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bastrop
13.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bastrop Pines Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Hampton Inn La Grange
Hampton Inn La Grange
#1 of 7 in La Grange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
18.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN La Grange Inn & Suites
12.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Bastrop
Comfort Suites Bastrop
#5 of 9 in Bastrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katy House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katy House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Katy House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 201 Romona St, P.O. Box 556, Smithville, TX 78957-1845
Location: United States > Texas > Smithville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Smithville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic home, one block from Main Street. The Katy House has five bedrooms, with private baths. Cable TV, VCR, free WiFi and clock radios in all rooms. A full breakfast is served each morning. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing