We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retro family fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of M G's Restaurant

M G's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 129 Restaurants in Sherman
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sulphur Springs, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Retro family fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband saw this place on tv and told me about it when my mom and I made a quick trip to Sherman. It is an old 50's diner and the food was good. Several burgers to choose from with car names. The shake machine was down, so unfortunately we didn't get to try one. Atmosphere was great and service was good too. Great stop.

Helpful?
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    46
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Howe, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Move Over, Five Guys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

What a find, a local, non-chain, burger joint all decked out in a 50's theme, with great food! The buns are baked in the local bakery 2 doors down (which they own) and were so delicious. Both hubby and I had burgers and fries, but the chicken fried steak, and onion rings looked great too. The location is a surprise, thought the GPS was wrong since we were in the middle of a residential neighborhood, and it doesn't look like much from the outside. We did try dessert, a cream cheese frosted brownie which was disappointing (the only reason I rated this a 4 instead of a 5). We will return and maybe try a different dessert!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Burger in Sherman”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

MG's is our Go-To Burger place! Every burger is compared to theirs... and none are as good. This place is awesome, although is a little small and sometimes gets crowded during peak hours. You can always get it to-go too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank heather b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I'm a native of Sherman, and M.G.'s has been around for a long time. I have eaten here for years, and never been disappointed in the food - ever. The buns are homemade, the burgers have a great flavor, and you HAVE to try the "nuts and bolts!" Wonderful! And if you can manage dessert after a fantastic meal, it's well worth the effort :)
M.G.'s is a great place to meet friends and enjoy the atmosphere - AND an excellent meal - at the same time!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“The very best Fried Zucchini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The best in Texoma Land Burger Joint, The burgers are made to order with the freshest ingrediants with the bread being baked fresh daily, Onion rings are great, but the fried zuchini is to die for, make sure you dine in while having the zuchini as they are best served piping hot. Decor is from the 50's and the staff are very friendly and helpful, prices are

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M G's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to M G's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing