We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite lunch place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kathleen's Kitchen

Kathleen's Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 129 Restaurants in Sherman
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durant, Oklahoma
1 review
“My favorite lunch place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Kathleen's is the best lunch spot in North Texas. We drive there often from southern Oklahoma.
Try her Santa Fe Chili or a Waldorf Chicken Salad sandwich (on one of their homemade breads) or a Strawberry Spinach Salad with Poppy Seed Dressing. I often get the Honey Mustard Dressing (regular or low-fat) on one of the salads. The atmosphere is homey
and inviting and the waitresses are friendly and helpful. Their signature dessert is Bread Pudding. After your meal, browse their bakery and other foods available for carryout. We love her recipe for Pimiento Cheese Spread. Or select a loaf of homemade bread, a cake, cookies, or cupcakes. In my book Kathleen's Kitchen is TOPS!! You'll go back, too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    23
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Valentine's Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I look forward to this delicious meal all year long. We love the prime rib along with everything else. We enjoy the atmosphere and the service is always so nice. For the rest of the year we survive on the best smoked turkey salad and strawberry spinich salad. My girls always think it is such a treat when they come home and there is smoked turkey salad in the fridge.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Local Sandwich Shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a family favorite! Friendly staff, delicious food. I highly recommend Kathleen's potato soup most days except Tuesday because then you can get her chicken and wild rice soup. Her grilled cheese sandwiches are perfectly buttery and crispy. Another favorite sandwich of ours is the Smoked Turkey Club. I get it on her flaky croissant without the bacon and it's awesome! Her special herbal mayo really puts this sandwich over the top.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneDering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
1 review
“Kathleen's is cute, quaint, and a delicious spot for lunch or bakery goods.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I've never been disappointed in all my visits over the years. The Valentine's dinner is more than delicious and my only wish is that they were open more!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TaraHolliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best strawberry spinach salad ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I have not tried anything here that isn't good, but my favorites are strawberry spinach salad, chicken salad, potato soup and chicken wild rice soup. Delish!

Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathleen's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Kathleen's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing