We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in town!”
Review of Kathleen's Kitchen

Kathleen's Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 130 Restaurants in Sherman
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
McKinney, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place in town!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

If you are looking for a delicious, home-cooked meal, then look no further - Kathleen's Kitchen is BY FAR the best place to eat in the Texoma area! Family owned and operated, Kathleen & her family have been serving satisfied patrons for many years. While certainly best known for their to-die-for desserts, Kathleen's is a personal favorite of mine for their soup selection (best potato soup I have EVER tasted), their sandwiches (which are enough to fill you up, but not so much you make yourself miserable) and of course, their homemade breads. In a time when quality is often sacrificed for the benefit of making a profit, Kathleen's Kitchen is a breath of fresh air for not only providing the best lunches in the area, but for taking pride in the way its delivered. As I live in McKinney, my only complaint regarding Kathleen's is that I'm not close enough to make it a regular lunch spot! Thank goodness they are now open on Saturdays - one stop in the bakery and I am set for the week! If you are in the area, make sure you take the time to stop by Kathleen's Kitchen - you won't regret it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    24
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing home cooked food, but stays very busy!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Kathleen's has the best restaurant that's open for lunch in Sherman. From the potato soup to the strawberry spinach salad, everything on the menu is delectable. No more than $8-10 per person (including one of their fabulous desserts) this is, hands down, one of my favorite restaurants to visit when I'm in town. I only wish they were open for dinner! I crave their hot ham and cheese sandwiches as well as their chicken salad. I also thoroughly enjoy their bakery. You can purchase homemade goodies for all occasions. I ordered chocolate covered strawberries for my anniversary a few years back, and everything down to the presentation was perfect. The employees are the sweetest, and I have yet to encounter someone rude. Located on the north east corner of Travis and Taylor, Kathleen's Kitchen is worth visiting if you are ever in Sherman.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klafoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
“YUMM--EE!!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My personal favorites are their amazing strawberry and spinach salad is wonderful. They are very well known for that.....BUT....Kathleen's Kitchen also has the BEST Bread Pudding I have ever had!! It has a yummy sugary crunch on top of the creamy Pudding. I still have not found one that compares to Kathleen's Kitchen!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A great place to eat...”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Kathleen's is the food you swear you could make yourself...until you realize you can't.

The quality of the food, the right seasoning and portion size...Kathleen's has it.

My only comment is that most guys that eat in wish there were roomer seating in the dining area. It doesn't matter though...because take out is the best. Do yourself a favor and eat here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rance D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Okay but not great”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We went to this place on the recommendation of a hotel desk clerk, and it was okay but not great. The "1950s local cafe" atmosphere was okay, but we expected more from the food. It was a decent lunch, but I won't seek it out again if I ever find myself returning to Sherman.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TxTraveler254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathleen's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Kathleen's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing