We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Sherman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Sherman
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sherman
GOTHA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“As expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Many reviews were "stay away", but the room was as expected, quiet, and they had make-your-own "Texas" waffles. Could've been cleaner, but as expected. The water was very "soft", which is rare in most areas of the country. Soft water is very good fr your skin. I would think that the water must be naturally this way and not with a filter.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spyderman_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    29
    18
    32
See reviews for
38
27
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DeForest, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We have stayed at this place a few times and it is always the same. They need a handyman to take care of this place. It needs to be tweeked major. It needs finishing touches or maybe a tear down and start all over again. I asked for an extra pillow once and regretted doing so. The handicapped room is in need of "work" ... no strip between the hallway and the bathroom ... the rug is ripped and raveled. The bathtub is too high for the room. Not handicapped ready at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redgalaxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

The room was musty smelling and very dusty, The comforter and blankets were dingy. The mattress was lumpy and hard and on one wall there was something nasty and I really didn't want to know what it was. This motel is a disgrace to the chain of Super 8 motels.

Room Tip: Don' t get Room 118
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Grove, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

this is the very worst motel I have ever seen. The room was filthy, after the meth ravaged housekeeper "cleaned" it. 3 inches of dirt along each wall, after she swept it. The breakfast area looked just like the picture except... the old food from yesterday still slopped around on the counters. The carpets are literally rotten, there are cockroaches, and we are still sick. Probably from the filthy environment. DO NOT STAY HERE. Disgusting is the most accurate description.

Room Tip: see the room before you pay... or just suffer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicmcd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

This is one of the most disgusting hotel rooms we have ever stayed in. We were on a very long drive home from a delayed cruise ship, which resulted in us staying in a road side hotel that we had not researched for reviews. The floors had not been vacuumed in some time, the upper door lock had been broken off, the whole placed smelled like a casino (we were in a non-smoking room), and I could not trust the bedding being clean. We kept our belongings up on the TV stand and put nothing on the dirty floors or chairs. We pulled the bedspread and blanket off the bed and chose to sleep in our clothes with only the sheet covering us. The shower head was so low that I had to duck down- I'm 5'1!! I'm mad we did not just ask for our money back and leave, but it was midnight and we were all exhausted. When we left the hotel, I stripped off the sheets just to see what was under there....the stains were so disgusting I thought I would throw up. Needless to say, we skipped the free breakfast! Please steer clear of this Super 8!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MomToTwoColumbia_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

Friendly, helpful front desk staff; convenient to have cereal, juice and coffee in morning.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centexkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

This hotel is fine when you are travelling thru the area.
Good restaurant across the road.
My toliet would not shut off. I told the desk clerk and she said the owner would fix it
the next day, but he came that night and took care of it. the desk clear had offered to move me to another room, but it was a minor problem I could live with.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kruemcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherman
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Sherman
Days Inn Sherman
#4 of 9 in Sherman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sherman Highway 75
5.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sherman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#5 of 9 in Sherman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Denison
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Sherman
Hampton Inn Sherman
#3 of 9 in Sherman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Sherman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sherman

Property: Super 8 Sherman
Address: 111 E. Highway 1417, Hwy. 75 & 1417, Sherman, TX 75090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Sherman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sherman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sherman 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Texoma recreational facilities nearby SuperStart Breakfast Complimentary coffee Free High Speed Internet Rollaways Cribs free Children 17 and under free Pets accepted w/ $10 per pet per night fee Bingo 20 miles All of the following are within 2 miles-- Texas Instruments Fisher Control Folgers Coffee Johnson and Johnson Sherman Plastic Kaiser Aluminum MEMC ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Sherman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing