We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Shamrock
Selden, New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a very clean motel in a sleepy town. It takes a coupon from the discount motel books you get at rest areas. The breakfast was good but the waffle machine was broken. The microwave had the remains of a meal left in it. The cleaning crew needs to check inside the microwave. Other than the microwave the room was clean and the property was clean. The carpet needs to be replaced by the door as it is fraying.The desk staff was very polite and helpful. This is an adequate stop when you need a reasonably priced room when you are at the western Oklahoma, Eastern Texas border area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    18
    14
    13
See reviews for
22
29
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia City, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

the fridge was broke and had a horrible smell it took them half the day to get it out i told them three times i had kids and the manager says we are all booked so share a fridge with the joining room i had very rude. smell stayed in the room a few days after they took it out. had to tell the front desk to fill breakfast everything was empty. holes in blankets light bulbs out.no channel guide for tv. i would not stay at this hotel even if it was free.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shamrock hotels

Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

My sister and I were coming back from a wedding in July, stopped in Shamrock out of pure exhaustion -- were so tired we just chose a place from the free ad coupons one gets at Visitor's Centers. Manager was dubious, but finally gave us the advertised price.
The room was basically clean, and the fridge worked, but the room was dimly lit, and dingy. It was like sleeping in grandma's old attic. The bed was lumpy and creaky, the linens were stiff and yellow and the towels I would have long relegated to a rag box. Breakfast was rather stale as well. I certainly would not return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docendee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Indiana
Level Contributor
140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed in a double bed non smoking room while driving across country. The Econo Lodge was the only place in town with vacancy.

The room was so filthy that I did not want to take off my shoes, the shower was filled black mold, and the room smelled terrible. Outside there were empty beer cans and liquor bottles everywhere. They provided wireless internet for "select rooms". We could connect with provided password but there was no connectivity so we were unable to get online.

This room was priced the same as the Holiday Inn we stayed at the night before. The differences between the two were night and day. I would sleep in my car before I went back there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sawbo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

This pet-friendly motel may look run-down, but inside the rooms were clean. We had free wi-fi, microwave and refrigerator, and our dog could be easily walked at a nearby vacant lot. It was an easy walk down route 66 to Big Vern's Steakhouse, where we had a great meal at a low price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longs, South Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

Worse place I ever stayed in the Econo Lodge Chain. Bed was bad, room was dirty. Could not take a shower due to the fact the system was backed up. Hair and other scum in Bath tube. Would not recommend this lodge. I understand this is not a Hilton, but .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

This is an average motel in a very small town in northern texas. We have stayed here several times on the way to and from Phoenix. In no way is it luxury, just a basic clean comfortable room. The only frill is a brekfast bar in the am with the basic breakfast items, and some pretty bad coffee. I do thing the place is a litte overpriced, about 60 bucks on a week day night, senior rate. Nice people at check in, owners, I think.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redriders2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shamrock
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Shamrock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Route 66 Inn
Route 66 Inn
#4 of 8 in Shamrock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shamrock Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shamrock North
14.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wheeler
0.2 mi away
Shamrock Country Inn
Shamrock Country Inn
#1 of 8 in Shamrock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1006 E 12th St, Shamrock, TX 79079-1901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Shamrock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Shamrock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Shamrock
Shamrock Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing