We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms but ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Shamrock Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Shamrock
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice rooms but ...”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Just a couple of things, all customer service related, would have improved their rating.
Check in clerk was not behind the desk but hanging out with friends in the food area.

At check out the clerk didn't even say good morning. Seriously!

Additionally the breakfast area wasn't clean and ready at 6am with most of the hot items not ready until 7am.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    64
    27
    11
    11
See reviews for
69
74
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2013

When I travel I love to stay at the Best Western they make you feel at home and safe. They have everything anyone would want from swimming to a work out room. And anything you would ever want to eat in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Slipped into bed after nice shower to awaken to itchy feet and a terrible odor emanating from the foot end of the mattress. Flipped back the covers and sheets and almost fell over from the odor. Took a shower and left the room , so much for a goodnights rest!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very clean the guy at the front desk was great had dogs with us so was unsure of what I was going to get the room was very clean looked very nice, bed was nice no complaints, oh yes one go eat some where else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Saw bug traps by the 1st floor entrances, some kind of white substance outside room doors? The pull out couch was uncomfortable, lots of truckers in this hotel and the continental breakfast was terrible; old and overcooked. The coffee was just brown water.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midNYtoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a trip across country. The room was big and had plenty of room to stretch out. It had big comfortable chair and a good desk area. The TV and channel choices were great. Internet was fast. They were renovating the halls so when we stayed it was not attractive. The rest of the common areas were done nicely. If we were to stay in Shamrock Texas again we would highly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here as it was $30 cheaper than others, is convenient to I40 and had decent reviews. Shamrock is small so the hotel is only four blocks from Rt 66, the famous U Drop Inn and Big Vern's Steakhouse where we had dinner (very good).

The room was clean and nicely furnished. The king bed was comfy as was the big chair. Issues were a strange odor in the room which we could not figure out. It wasn't really unpleasant, just strange and after awhile we didn't notice it. The AC didn't have a constant "on" selection for the fan so it cycled on and off all night with the AC making more noise. The bathroom was clean but the water pressure was too low on the shower. The toilet wobbled which management obviously knew about as shims had been used to try to stabilize it.

The front desk staff were pleasant enough but I got the feeling that each of them would rather be doing something else. The young man on duty in the evening barely looked up from his computer as we went by going in and out.

This hotel could be much better so I think there's probably a management problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shamrock
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Shamrock
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shamrock North
0.6 mi away
Route 66 Inn
Route 66 Inn
#4 of 8 in Shamrock
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 8 in Shamrock
81 reviews
13.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wheeler
0.5 mi away
Shamrock Country Inn
Shamrock Country Inn
#1 of 8 in Shamrock
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Shamrock Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Shamrock Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Shamrock Inn & Suites
Address: 1802 N Main St, Shamrock, TX 79079-1630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Shamrock
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Shamrock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Shamrock Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Shamrock Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing