We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Roost

The Roost
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Shamrock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our kitchen is open! You can see our certified safe food handlers in our clean kitchen preparing your food with great care. The Roost is known for being "Mom's Kitchen" and having a homey atmosphere, serving wholesome foods, homemade dishes and specials, homemade desserts and pastries and offering the convenience of a take n' bake pantry. Check out our page on Facebook (The Roost in Shamrock) and stop in to meet us in person! Christy, Cathie, Carla, Cara, Cari and the rest of the crew are always happy to see you walk through the door! We have an outside covered deck if you prefer a patio lunch too! If you are in a hurry, please tell us and we will suggest quick options to accommodate your schedule. Y'all come on in!
Shawnee, Kansas
2 reviews
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

You have to drive off the main road to find it but The Roost is worth it. The food is hearty and wonderful. The burgers are huge and very flavorful. The Reuben was devoured in a flash. Wish I had room to try more than one thing. The pinto beans were really good. And save room for dessert. You won't leave hungry.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cat1cat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy W, Owner at The Roost, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to give us a review! Hope you are able to come through this way again and try more menu items! We change menus seasonally and have different specials daily! Stay safe in your travels. - The Roost Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    10
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A diamond in the rough!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

While passing through town the kids said,they were hungry,so I got on this site and found "The Roost". The food was AMAZING!! Their chicken dumpling soup, Ruben, and fish tacos had great flavor and perfect portions. Not hard on the wallet either,especially traveling with the family.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Budkotazeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy W, Owner at The Roost, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
So glad you liked the reuben! We love serving it. Thanks so much for taking time to give us a review. Hope you come see us again when you are traveling through! - The Roost Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food & Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

The Roost was our dinner stop while passing through Shamrock on our vacation to Arizona & New Mexico. Used Google Maps' directions to find The Roost, but the directions were not totally correct. We did find The Roost and we are so glad we did!
First of all our waitress was so nice and helpful...someone that you would want for a friend the first time you met her. We got two of their specials for the day- Kale Salad & Enchilada Soup.
The soup came with freshly made tortilla chips and salsa. Both the
salad & the soup were delicious.
They were made with fresh ingredients which resulted in wonderful flavors with a very nice presentation.
We wanted a lighter meal and this was perfect!
When we started to leave the waitress and owner/chef chatted with us about their food and our destination. Such nice down to earth Texas gals!!!
They also wanted to make sure we had a drink in a to go cup to take with us...they have very good ice!
The atmosphere is very cute with roosters painted on the walls (don't miss the rooster in the restroom),colorful chairs & colorful bandana napkins.
The Roost is a small town gem that you should not miss if traveling through Shamrock.
Highly recommended!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Quadp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy W, Owner at The Roost, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us a review! Chicken tortilla soup is a big favorite with us and it pleases us to no end that you liked it so much too! Hope we see you again in the not too distant future! Safe travels!! - The Roost Family (Christy, Cathie, Kylie, Cara, Cari, Carla and Freddy)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice people, good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This was an unexpected find on our road trip. I had the Ruben and the beans which were yummy. Everyone else in our group liked their food too. The people were friendly and chatty. It was the perfect break from the road. We had a little trouble finding it, but just called them and they gave us directions. It was worth it.

Helpful?
Thank RVs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy W, Owner at The Roost, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
:) We remember ya'll! and thanks for taking time to give us a review. We truly appreciate it and are so glad you called and found us! Look forward to seeing you again if you come back through (and hope you do!) - The Roost Family (Christy, Cathie, Kylie, Cara, Cari, Carla and Freddy)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington, United States
2 reviews
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were both blown away by the quality experience. Great food and service. It's not fast food but the wait is well worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy W, Owner at The Roost, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for taking time to give us a review! We enjoyed having you with us and you'll notice when you get to come back and dine with us in the future, we have shortened our guest-wait time by trimming the menu back to only the top favorites. We spice the days up by have different, fun daily specials and home made desserts. Look forward to seeing you again soon! - The Roost Family (Christy, Cathie, Kylie, Cara, Cari, Carla and Freddy)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Roost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing