We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to lay your head”
Review of Motel 6 Shamrock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Shamrock
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Shamrock
Reviewed August 23, 2014

I was driving to albuquerque and stopped here for the night. I didn't want to pay a lot for just a few hours of sleep. The rooms were nice decent. Nothing fancy. I'd stay there again. I felt safe I stayed by pool area. I paid $61 a lil pricy but nothing like across highway!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Okiegal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 85 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

It is so amazing what just having a nice clean room can do to refresh your tired sorry, aching bones. The sign read "under new management" and the new owners definitely "get it". The mattresses appear new, linens and newer bedding were crisp, a/c worked great and the carpet was so new we didn't even fret about waking to our slippers after our long, hot showers. I felt do refreshed I actually did my hair after my shower! That required energy! Thank you, Motel 6 of Shamrock, TX. Barring anything bad happening tonight, we will recommend you to EVERYONE.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nadine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I use Motel 6s, I like them, and have certain expectations for a clean but spartan place to lay my head. This is not a Motel 6. It is in the transition to becoming one, but has a long way to go. First, the wifi is not working and obviously has not been working for a long, long time. This is not acceptable. The room was large but crummy. Had to kill a few flies and a total of 3 big brown spiders who seem to have claimed the bathroom. The bottom of the curtains over the big window had really dirty hems. Skip it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SteveD784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is not a five star hotel It is Motel 6. It is exactly what you would expect from a Motel 6. A safe place to lay your head and get back on the road the next morning. Check-in was easy and the prices were good. We got a two queen room on the ground floor. The room is a little larger than I remember most Motel 6's. We were happy with the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

My father and i were driving all day on i-40 and decided to stop for the night and pulled into the motel 6 my father didnt have his aaa card but she still gave him the discount i figured the room would be nice and clean since motel 6s always are but when we walked i was amazed huge room flat screen digital cable big nice soft beds cold a/c. Modern furniture bueatiful hotel room

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steliocontos13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed here only overnight on my way to Arkansas. All hotels/motels along this route are above-average prices due to the interstate. I had to stay in the back section (smoking) because there were no single rooms available in the non-smoking. The room I had was adequate (despite the faint smoke odor) and I felt safe being there and it was clean with fresh linens. Face it...most who stay at Motel 6 do so because it is pet-friendly with little restrictions and/or the price...not because it is a luxurious place with a lot of amenities. So you get what you pay for. As long as Motel 6's are relatively safe and relatively clean and they accept pets that's all I expect. Some Motel 6's are better than others. It just depends on the location. If you read a lot of hotel/motel reviews many of the more expensive chains don't have such great reviews as the lower priced ones so that should be considered.

Room Tip: I stayed here only overnight on my way to Arkansas. All hotels/motels along this route are above-av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank maryellen1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

A group of us stayed here after storm chasing in the area.

The rooms were large and pretty basic but they could really do with a clean.

They were nice and tidy with plenty of space and the guy at reception said they had recently been updated and that no one had used the rooms we were allocated in a while. There was a bit of dust in the corners and some dead bugs.

I would stay here again but only as a last resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owentonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shamrock hotels
4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 8 in Shamrock
84 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Shamrock Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Route 66 Inn
Route 66 Inn
#4 of 8 in Shamrock
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Shamrock Country Inn
Shamrock Country Inn
#1 of 8 in Shamrock
260 reviews
4.6 mi away
Western Motel
Western Motel
#5 of 8 in Shamrock
50 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shamrock North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Shamrock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Shamrock

Address: 301 I-40 East, Shamrock, TX 79079 (Formerly Irish Inn Motel)
Location: United States > Texas > Shamrock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Shamrock
Price Range: $54 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Shamrock 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Shamrock is conveniently located off I-40 about 90 miles east of Amarillo TX and 50 miles Southwest of Elk City, Oklahoma. Amenities include micro-fridge units upon request, free Wi-Fi, a meeting room and guest laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Shamrock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irish Hotel Shamrock
Irish Motel Shamrock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing