We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and quiet place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shamrock North
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Shamrock
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Safe and quiet place to stay”
Reviewed October 19, 2010

The breakfast was decent. The room was clean (no bed bugs) but the entertainment unit had an odd smell to it--like an old lady. The staff was fine but not as friendly at other places we have stayed. The fitness room was very small with a flatscreen tv and the machines were new. The area is rural and not much in terms of things to do but if passing through and you need to stay I recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kushka13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    42
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
34
33
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

This hotel is right on the I-40 "business route" which is actually the old U.S. Route 66. The clerk at the counter was efficient and friendly, even trying to work out why I had two "points" accounts and fix the problem (turns out I have to do that myself with a phone call).

The room was very attractive and provided all the expected amenities. Fast food is available across the street (watch for large trucks when you cross!). It was quiet, and the bed was a step above many...good enough so that movements by your sleeping partner weren't transmitted across the bed.

Among the very few negatives...there are no towel racks, breakfast only lasts until 8:30, and there's not much in Shamrock, TX. We also found a dead cricket on the floor, but this is a hazard at certain times in Texas...I remember my time in the military in Texas and being amazed at the annual cricket "hatch" (they were literally EVERYWHERE and completely unavoidable...to find only one in the room, and dead at that, is something of a miracle after the annual "hatch"). We presented it to the clerk as a joke and she laughed right along with us.

We've been staying in out-of-the-way places in an attempt to avoid high bedbug areas, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_n_Rich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

The Shamrock Holiday Express was a great stay! Wow!!Very friendly and professional staff. Clean spacious rooms and a great delicious morning breakfast buffet. After running all day I can't think of any better place to stay than Holiday Express! Thank you Dena and all the staff for your warm Texas Hospitiality!
Striding on Across America,
JR Monrovia, CA
http://thetransusarun.blogspot.com

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnRadich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

There are but a handful of hotels in Shamrock and so we chose Holiday Inn so that we may use our Priority Club Points. It was easy to find & only 1 block away from the U-Drop-Inn where we casually strolled over to listen to live music being played beneath the beautiful neon lights. Yes, the hotel backs up to a yard with junky vehicles, but this is a small town and rural lifestyle scenery is to be expected. We were just happy that our room didn't overlook I-20. Our hotel bathroom was very, very nice . . . the best we've seen in the Holiday Inns. The tile and dark wood was a nice contrast to the plush white towels. The continental breakfast was good and the staff kept the food stations well stocked. One down side was that the indoor pool was being repaired.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraMOAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

This Holdiay Inn Express has the typical amenities, but the people and service were great. I spent the first night in the Irish Inn, and I'll never stay there again. This Holiday Inn is brand new, and the people are as pleasant as you can find. It is within a few blocks of the highway, and this little town doesn't have a rush hour. I'll stay here every time I go to Shamrock.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalenTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

First of all, there are other properties to choose from. I chose the HIExpress because of it being "new". The price was exceptionally high for what you get. My room on the first floor overlooked someones backyard with junked cars so I had to keep the drapes closed. When I went to take a shower, the bathroom only had a hand towel and washcloth in it. I was not impressed with that. I had to go to the front desk and ask for towels because my phone did not work. No worries there, but I had to wait more than 10 minutes to ask for a towel. Breakfast was your typical HIExpress breakfast. In the event that you need to use their computer in the business center, check and see if the anti-virus is up to date (it wasn't when I used it). And, they allow pets. I had to listen to a medium sized dog cry (in the hall) for more than 20 minutes because the women couldn't figure out how to get into their room. If I ever need to stay in Shamrock again, I think I'll check a different property. I would only recommend this room to a friend if they wanted to pay more for a room.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokymtndeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shamrock
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Shamrock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Shamrock Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Route 66 Inn
Route 66 Inn
#4 of 8 in Shamrock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 8 in Shamrock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
14.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wheeler
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Country Inn
Shamrock Country Inn
#1 of 8 in Shamrock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shamrock North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shamrock North

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shamrock North
Address: 101 E 13th St, Shamrock, TX 79079-1813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Shamrock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Shamrock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shamrock North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Shamrock, Texas Ideally located near Shamrock General Hospital and the Shamrock Municipal Airport, our downtown Shamrock, Texas hotel provides easy access to famous Route 66 attractions and to Shamrock's major businesses. Known for its St. Patrick's Day Festival and the historic U-Drop Inn & Conoco Station, Shamrock, TX welcomes visitors with courtesy. Leisure travelers find hospitality and comfort at our new hotel located in downtown Shamrock near the Pioneer West Museum, the Texas Theatre and various restaurants and antique shops. The countryside around Shamrock also boasts excellent hunting opportunities. Business travelers lodging in our Shamrock, TX hotel appreciate our location in northern Texas' agriculture country. The Shamrock Livestock Commission and the Great Plains Breeders Association are less than a mile from our non smoking Shamrock accommodations. The Shamrock Country Club generously invites guests of this hotel to enjoy a free round of golf. During you stay, our pet friendly Shamrock lodgings will provide you with free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a complimentary breakfast. An indoor, heated pool and whirlpool, a fitness center and a 24-hour business center are also available for our guests' benefit. We invite you to consider our excellent Shamrock, Texas hotel rates and start planning your visit today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shamrock North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Shamrock North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing