We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rudy's as Usual” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rudy's Country Store & Bar B Q

Rudy's Country Store & Bar B Q
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Selma
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
New Braunfels, TX
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rudy's as Usual”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Just like Rudy's elsewhere and come to think of it, just like most BBQ places in Texas.

Helpful?
Thank DrWEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    38
    17
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grove, Oklahoma
1 review
“A dissapointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Bad slaw, pitiful beans, so so brisket, good turkey, poor apple cobbler. Atmosphere is good and the staff friendly.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

The food was fine though choice a little limited. Prices were reasonable. Staff friendly and helpful.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank RayNailsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“LOVE IT!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

My friend introduced me to this place. I have to say i didn't hesitate to buy the BBQ sauce. Being able to see the food cut and portioned. gettin to taste test before i decided on the meat. The cream corn is a family fav. And the picnic tables are an awesome touch. My kids loved the icecream options. You even can put your name and place of birth or a place to reconize on a list and at your next visit you can see a pin on a map that you know is just for you. Another plus is that you are right near alot of place to visit.Not far from San Antonio and alot of the shopping centers.. Give it a try!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TigerlillyBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Was recommended, but really nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Was in the area for 2 nights and was told by a colleague that I HAD to eat at this place. So I went late afternoon/early evening for an early dinner. Not being from the area, I did not want to get there and the place be crazy. Showing up at about 5 pm, there was no line. The restaurant is attached to a gas station, on access road along I-35 (Northbound). The folks were very nice, telling me how to run through the line and offering samples of the smoked turkey (which was really good). Opted for the sliced brisket with creamed corn and pinto beans. Iced tea (sweetened) was really good, not overly sweet. Brisket was tasty, but a tad dry. I was not a fan of the house BBQ sauce, it was quite vinegary (did not see any other choices of sauce). The creamed corn was some of the best I have ever had, the pinto beans was nothing to get excited about. Comes with a piece of sliced bread in a plastic crate. Not too bad of price (about $10 or so), but I have had better in my days. If in the area again, I would give another place a shot before coming back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank suts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Country Store & Bar B Q also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Country Store & Bar B Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing