We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Older motel re-branded” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Seguin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Seguin
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Seguin
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Older motel re-branded”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This Motel 6 was turned into a Motel 6 via addition of a new sign over the old one on the front. The plus side is that the rooms are slightly larger than in corporate properties, and they still have the refrigerator and microwave in the room from when it was another motel. The downside is that it's sort of old and run-down. I saw no signs of any recent refurb work other than what appeared to be a new plastic surround around the chipped bathtub.

Supposedly it has free WiFi. But they gave me a code for the WiFi and it didn't work. So I ended up using tethering on my 3G phone rather than bother getting dressed again and trudging up to the office. If I'd paid for the WiFi I would have been more concerned but still had plenty of data left on my data plan so (shrug).

Others report issues with cleanliness. My room was clean, just tired, with somewhat worn carpet, tired furniture, and a chipped bathtub in the bathroom .

All in all I won't call it the worst hotel ever, but I expect better from Motel 6. I could have stayed at any number of similarly tired budget motels in town for less.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elgreen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    4
    5
    17
See reviews for
11
5
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laredo, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

First of all let me begin by mentioning that I just stopped in to take a break from a long drive, I checked in at 2am and was hopeful that this Motel 6 would be comfortable and clean. Checking in to this hotel was a BIG mistake! I have stayed at a Motel 6 before and have never seen anything like this.....dirty, smelly, and in complete disrepair. There was even a cigarette butt on the floor in the room! Now to those who mention you get what you pay for, I agree. I didn't expect luxury mattresses with egyptian cotton sheets but i did expect a clean, well-kept room. This place was just plain gross.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cricketdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seguin hotels

Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We arrived at this hotel because we were so tired of driving from Houston and wanted a place to stay we arrived at around 12am so I went in and asked the girl who was at the office if she had any availability and she said yes so I asked if she had Non Smoking double beds and she said no that she only had Smoking. I told her that I needed a Non Smoking because I had children with me and she apologized for the inconvinience so I told her I had to talk to my aunt first. I went and talked to her and went back inside and asked the girl if I could see the room first to see how bad it smelled because I had children with me and she changed the subject saying "Oh we have a Non Smoking room with 3 beds @ $99.99+tax" She had lied and said that she didnt have any now she had one, pretty confusing so we decided to take the room anyways THINKING it was a nice room plus we were so tired we didnt even argue about it but Hell no!!!!She gave us room 124 its on the back side of the hotel where theres a trash bin and an empty space of land it was scary. Upon entering the room there was like animal droppings on the baseboards all around the rooms, the lamp between the 2 beds were broken, the mirror was dirty, there were spiderwebs all over the ceiling, the bed spreads had holes, the curtain was broken, the bathroom was dirty and had no trash can, overall the room was dirty. We couldn't go anywhere else because it was late and the kids were tired so we all decided to stay together and sleep in the 2 beds on top of the bed spread. I had put my 2 month old to sleep in the stroller between the 2 beds because I was just so uncomfortable and itchy. The only good thing I can say was that the TV, Hairdryer and A/C were the only things that were ok. Dont EVER stay here its the worst place ever.

Room Tip: No tips this Hotel is HORRIBLE
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 84Lone_Star84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

room was horrible . the room had spider webs on the ceilings , seemed like it had not been cleaned/ dusted. Every time we moved on the bed ,dust came through our noses thats why we didnt even move the sheets we slept over them, yuck. We felt itchy and uncomfortable . The curtains were scratched badly by something...floors were filthy... worst of all was the rat poop on the edges . i dont recommend anybody staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojomil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

I would first like to say that I enjoyed my stay here. The employees were friendly and accommodating, the breakfest filling, the rooms alright, and the price not so bad. Ignorant people who travel and pay low prices somehow expect everything to be above and beyond what they paid for, which is ridiculous. To anyone who actually reads the others reviews, don't make a judgment based off of them. I mean why would you believe a person if they made several racial remarks towards the employees and made incredulous claims that quite possible never happened. (maybe wanting a refund b/c the employees found 5 extra people in a room meant for 4? I guess getting charged for the extra people you lied about is a crime against nature) But thats just my honest opinion. Thanks

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BOBqhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

we found bed bugs on us biting us at 5am. we packed up and rushed out. told the clerk and their reply was 'oh yeah we have had trouble with them in that room....demanded a refund and they simply pointed to a ''NO REFUNDS'' sign on the wall.....totally unacceptable, disgusting, etc etc etc..... I have never in my 60 years came across something or someone as hideous as this. I could understand an accidental infestation and rental but the fact that they admitted having knowledge of the critters prior to renting is unbelievable....my wife and I work on the road most of the year and now have no choice but to check rooms in person prior to paying to aviod another encounter like this and bites that last for weeks. its sickening. How could they? choose your motels and hotels very carefully. good day friends.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the bed bugs and careless staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dontletbedbugsbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

Worst excuse for Lodging ever!!! Pubes all over the bathroom,holes and mold on the ceiling,smelled like wet cat,drawers fell out of nightstand,giant hole in bedspread,air cond had to be 50 yrs old and worked sporadically,I'm afraid to get under the sheets,so I am going to sleep on top of the spread and hope for the best!!!! Not bad for 60 bucks Huh

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank mrvmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seguin
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Seguin TX
Days Inn Seguin TX
#8 of 11 in Seguin
3.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 11 in Seguin
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
2.2 mi away
Park Plaza Hotel Seguin
Park Plaza Hotel Seguin
#11 of 11 in Seguin
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seguin
3.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Seguin
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Seguin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Seguin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Seguin

Property: Motel 6 Seguin
Address: 1826 I-10 West, Highway 46 & I-10, Seguin, TX 78155 (Formerly Alamo Country Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Texas > Seguin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Seguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Seguin 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Seguin is located just outside of San Antonio off I-10. Summer attractions including Schlitterbahn in New Braunfels and The Riverwalk in San Antonio are nearby. All guest rooms have a modern look with free Wi-Fi. Truck parking on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Motel-6, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Seguin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Seguin
Country Inn Alamo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing