We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uber-Fantastic!”
Review of Dixie Grille

Dixie Grille
Ranked #4 of 101 Restaurants in Seguin
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Winner of "Best Restaurant Guadalupe County" for 7 years. Open 9 years. Family Friendly. Business Lunch. Full menu.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Uber-Fantastic!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband, older son and I stopped in this cafe on our way from San Antonio to Houston. It was on a Friday and we arrived at noon. We were greeted by a friendly hostess and red-checked tablecloths with an old-time Southern cafe feel. Heaping platters of fresh chicken fried steak,with cream gravy and mashed potatoes passed our table, as did platters of big homemade hamburgers, crispy fries, meat loaf, salads and grilled chicken. Yummm, the food was excellent and the service superb. Iced tea is served in small pitchers; great on a hot day! Food is priced at $8-10 for lots of it. Come hungry. They also have steaks and seafood which I'm sure are just as fabulous. Also includes lots of variety in homemade vegetables and desserts. You MUST stop here. It's too good! We're going back to San Antonio, just to eat here!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Owner at Dixie Grille, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for your great review.

We mash those potatoes everyday.

We love to serve scratch foods. Not the frozen boxed items that the Big Chains are serving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    60
    12
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good down home cooking!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

A good down home restaurant. Chicken fry is excellent and service is average but overall I would recommend this place to anyone!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Horsefly73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Owner at Dixie Grille, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
I am sorry that you were not crazy about our service.
I hope you come back and get the best service ever.

Thanks for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, texas
Level Contributor
234 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great meatloaf”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Have visited this one at least once a month for the past year. Love the meatloaf. Chicken Fried Steak also really good. Have never had a disappointing meal. Service is excellent. And owners are great neighbors -- turn in your receipt to our church (Our Lady of Guadalupe), and they donate 10 percent to the church.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank winwinwin333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Owner at Dixie Grille, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
The meatloaf is made from an old secret recipe and I am glad you liked it. We sure sell a lot of it.

We have about 15 churches set up on our 10% rebate program. The money goes to the church of your choice.

Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
408 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good Southern food at good prices.”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We went january 27th and were pleasantly surprised. We both had the oyster po'boy, which was full of oysters and only $8 or $9 dollars. Really good fries, crisp on outside and soft on inside. I also got a side of fried catfish (although drfinitely not needed, just wanted to try it) and that was really good too! And the piece of catfish was only $1.25! Had to ask another server to get ours. Ours had her head down on the bar, tired I guess at 7pm. And the restaurant was 3/4 full. Thats the only reason I give it 4 instead of 5 stars.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pspoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Owner at Dixie Grille, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
I am glad you loved the oysters. We lightly bread them and lighty fry them.

The French Fries are the best - coated and them seasoned with our own special spices.

Thanks for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Down home cooking in a primo location...”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Dixie Grille should do well in their current location...they're located right beside I-10 at Exit #607. The building used to house a (short-lived) Chinese restaurant, hence the quirky architecture for a place that basically serves up comfort food.

The Grille has a decent-sized menu of really well-done Southern dishes from meat loaf to steak. Their desserts are excellent, and all portions are generous, to put it mildly. If you leave hungry, it's your own fault.

I mentioned the quirky architecture...the mood is sustained inside with televisions showing slideshows of funky and amusing pictures. Also, if you've had a run-in with our famous Texas highway patrol, you can attend Defensive Driving courses every Wednesday night with meal included. Comfort, indeed...

I recommend the Grille without reservation...it's a nice break from the Seguin overload of barbecue joints and Mexican food.

Sit up straight, elbows off the table, and clean your plate! Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedPondRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Owner at Dixie Grille, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for the review.

We love hearing from our customers.

The desserts are wonderful - Banana Pudding, Cheesecake with warm Strawberry Topping, Heavenly Fudge Brownie, Mississippi Mud Cake. I am glad you enjoyed eating with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dixie Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing