We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back! The hospitality really made this BNB!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Olivia Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olivia Mansion
Ranked #1 of 2 Seguin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it and we'll be back! The hospitality really made this BNB!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We were greeted by the wonderful Inn Keeper, Carol. Upon arrival she offered us wine. She was very charming the full time. Any questions or concerns we had, she handled with grace and confidence.

Rooms: The rooms were decorated very tastefully and were very comfortable. They each had their own thermostat and ceiling fan. To bring the air temperature down quicker there was a window unit - a very nice touch. In our 110 degree Texas weather the room did a good job of bringing the air down - not fantastic (like a well insulated powerful a/c in a hotel room) but it brought it down to 70 at the coolest time (early in the morning) and 75 during the day. I am an extremely hot-natured person and the air kept me comfortable. I still prefer a super chilly room like you can get in a hotel but this was fine and definitely cool at night. The rooms have a small TV that is hooked up to DirectTV satellite service and a DVD player. Most of the rooms have Jacuzzi tubs in the room, but we stayed in the least expensive Emma suite, which had a private shower across the hall. Even though this was the least expensive room, we thoroughly enjoyed it and it was very comfortable. One of the rooms was not occupied so Carol told us we could use the tub in that room if we ever wanted a bath instead of a shower. There is one room that is over the dog kennels (as one reviewer noted). It is the San Antonio suite. If you are a super light sleeper - like me, don't sleep in that room. If you have a partner that snores it will muffle the sound of the dogs. They are not that loud and do not bark all of the time. All of the rooms have fair amount of curtains so you can block out the morning sun.

Breakfast - Carol made the most amazing breakfasts. She would ask what time we wanted breakfast, and she would even deliver it to our door if we wanted to we could have breakfast in our room. The first morning we had the best french toast I've ever had, yummy crispy bacon, fluffy and moist scrambled eggs and fruit. The second we had dutch baby (or German) pancakes. They were so wonderful I plan to make them a staple in my house. So delicious! The last day we had sausage patties, eggs, and pancakes with fruit. Miss Carol is a wonderful cook.

Ambiance - Carol was such a great hostess and her and her husband did such a wonderful job restoring this mansion and appointing just the right touches in decorating. She has a very rich personality. She also offered us a glass of wine (or three) at night... which was a nice touch for parents who never really get to sit and unwind like we need to. Carol's special touches really made this bnb a 5 star place to stay. My 4 year old came on the last day and Carol was very sweet with her. She let my daughter play with her very sweet dogs, made her a delicious breakfast, and showed her such kindness - like you would hope a family member would act with your child. I just can't get over the how wonderful the hospitality was and I will be back :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinCTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    7
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
32
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

The service here was beyond superb! The rooms were very nice with lots of history for a very affordable price. We especially enjoyed the New Orleans room (we also stayed in the San Antonio). Location is not the best, but is very close to New Braunsfels where there are plenty of places to eat. The breakfast was great and Carol, the hostess, was always so cordial and entertaining. Our favorite her breakfast were her German pancakes! Overall it was a great place to stay, perfect ending for our 4th Anniversary. I highly recommend this place!

PS. The dogs are adorable and DON'T rule the house. They bark in the morning but it's an audible whisper.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanZ_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was a great place to stay. The owners even provided low-carb breakfast options specifically for us. The house was clean and the bed was so comfortable. The owners gave us keys so that we could some and go as we pleased. They were even able to score us some discounted Schlitterbahn tickets! The first night we shared a delicious wine with them and had a very pleasant visit. We stayed here for a weekend get-a-way to do Fiesta Texas and Schlitterbahn. The location was prefect for both. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonny061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

This place isnt a bed & breakfast....it's a dog kennel! The owners rescue dogs and keep them (10-15 dogs) in the kitchen while they prepare your food. As if that's not bad enough, the dog pen is under the bedroom window and they all start barking around 6:30 am and bark for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zeeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

The Mosheim is a wonderful place. The bedroom was over the top nice. Antiques, canopy bed, jetted tub for two with candles, glass shower.

Carol is a wonderful cook and breakfasts were extra memorable...she and her husband Bob would greet us as we came in after our excursions to Gruene, San Marcos, Wimberly with a glass of wine and pleasant conversation.

If you, like us, have ever loved a dog, Carol's dogs will open that door to your heart. They are, however, unobtrusive and were brought forward only at the guest's request.

We left the Mansion after three days for the Hyatt Regency on Riverwalk..it was a nice place, but not the Mosheim.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

Stop in your tracks if you want a dead drop, delicious, exquisite, luscious breakfast. The owner of this luxurious B & B is an experienced, helpful and accommodating innkeeper who juggles multiple guests with finesse. Their home is wonderful with authentic, time relevant antiques. She bends over backwards to accomdate your needs. We stayed in the Grand Suite with the whirlpool built for two. It was fun and romantic. Seriously, we don't know the owners. It's just that good. Its only minutes away from New Braunfels and worth the short drive.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GingerGarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

An absolutely excellent place to stay. The price was perfect, the rooms quiet and the hosts Bob and Carol made you feel like family. Attentive to every need. I wasnt able to make it to the dining room breakfast my first morning, as I had to leave for a job site early. I was up at 5AM and there was a breakfast prepared and waiting for me outside my room. At the end of the day returning back, there was wine and cookies waiting. I could go on and on about this stay. I will stay here anytime I get an opportunity. A true treat!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abraricl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seguin hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Hotel Seguin
Park Plaza Hotel Seguin
#9 of 11 in Seguin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
2.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Seguin
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Seguin
Hampton Inn Seguin
#1 of 11 in Seguin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seguin
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 11 in Seguin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Seguin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Mansion

Property: Olivia Mansion
Address: 409 N. Austin Street, Seguin, TX 78155 (Formerly Mosheim Mansion)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Seguin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Seguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous and unique accommodations in an 1892 Historic Mansion. A perfect blend of museum quality antiques and modern luxuries such as huge oversized whirlpools and flat screen TVs. After a great nights sleep on luxury linens, enjoy a complimentary breakfast in our traditional Victorian parlors and dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olivia Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing