We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Pie and Coffee”
Review of Frank's Restaurant

Frank's Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Schulenburg
Cuisines: American, German
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Pie and Coffee”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Good apple pie and ice cream. Plenty of good looking pies on the menu! About to close down....we were just passing through. Menu looking like lots of down home kind of meals. We would definitely stop again when we want a meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    71
    40
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ocala Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“84 years and counting!!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Okay, these people have been around a long time, they know the business and the food is awwwwwsomeee! So glad we heard of this one!! The grilled salmon was cooked just like I like. Now don't get to thinking this is a fancy place, it's not. We were there for lunch and ordered off the menu. I heard the fried chicken was tender and good. They even had a spoon so I could get all the good from the perfectly baked potato. Then eat their pie.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Always good!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stopped by Franks on our way to Houston (which is our custom) and we enjoyed it. Good down home cooking. We had breakfast which was great! How do they make those pancakes so good?! If you're heading to Houston (or from Houston via I-10), give it a try!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parislover1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Home cooking on the road”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We regularly stop at Franks traveling between San Antonio and Houston. We LOVE the enchiladas.
Franks food is always good, the service is always pleasant, the dining room is always comfortable. It isn't fabulous, it isn't fast, but it is consistently good.
There is also a gift shop to buy toys, books and baked goods to take on the road.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TWueste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicewood, TX
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and Dependable Quality”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Founded in 1929, Frank's has been in the same family for 83 years — no small feat for a restaurant. The present location, which seats 200, was built in 1970 at the intersection of IH 10 and US 77. Locals enjoy it for the rotating daily lunch specials; travelers like the fact that it is halfway between Houston and San Antonio. We like the friendly staff, the great homemade hamburger, and the famous pies. They often run out of coconut cream pie, so my husband asks to reserve a slice if we arrive later in the day. The menu is standard American, with a few items reflecting the local German and Czech influence. The souvenir shop area includes local breads such as the ever-popular kolaches.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraLaredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Frank's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing