We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty nice...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Schulenburg Inn & Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Schulenburg Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Schulenburg
Certificate of Excellence
WI
Level Contributor
161 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Pretty nice...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Found my room to be modern, clean & cozy, I was very impressed until it was time for sleep and then a few problems, the refrigerator hummed and buzzed so I had to get up several times and shake it around to calm it, and I was on an end poolside room and there was an extremely bright parking lot outside the room and I just could not get the curtains to shut it out completely, every crack the light would shine through like a spotlight. In the morning I was looking forward to trying a "kolache" which the website states they offer but not that morning, breakfast was otherwise plentiful with meat and hot oatmeal and other things but for some reason the cook was having trouble keeping up the scrambled eggs, I gave up went back to the room and went back 15 min later to which a new batch was out but almost gone again, so maybe this was a fluke to that day or maybe they should get a bigger egg warmer? Pet friendy, my Chihuahuas loved the big grassy area out back where they could run a bit. Bathtub/shower could use a facelift, the room and bathroom was otherwise tastefully modern.

Room Tip: You might like the idea of a poolside room but beware of the parking lot lights if your sensitive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
44611, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Schulenburg Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your travel experience with us all here on Trip Advisor. Sometimes the busy weekends are our biggest challenges. I hope we always hit our mark... Sounds like we missed it a bit with y'all though.

Just needs a little tweaking and your feedback will definitely help very much.

Wishing you Safe an Happy Travels.


Jackie Morehead
General Manager
Best Western Plus
Schulenburg Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    53
    26
    8
    12
See reviews for
62
55
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Do not overnight in this Best Western Hotel while driving the I-10 Highway.....What a terrible smell in the room .....Pure smoke-cigarette ! .....Avoid this hotel ..beside is extremely expensive ==> $135 the night.

Room Tip: Don't believe the rooms are NON-Smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseLuis_a_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
44611, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Schulenburg Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
While the hotel Policy is 100% Non-Smoking and every guests (including yourself) initials the policy and acknowledgement of the fee attached to smoking anywhere in the building... Sometimes it does still happen. We place our room out of service and apply a large portion of the $250 fee for stripping and cleaning purposes.

A former Smoker and even a Non-Smoker will always be able to accurately inform me if a room in my hotel has been smoked in, even when there is no evidence left behind. I am very fortunate to have many of both on my staff that can assist me. It is very disappointing to us when it occurs but even more disappointing when another guest is inconvenienced by it.

We will continue to work hard to maintain our status of being The BEST hotel in Schulenburg, Texas and as well within 50 miles east and west of us.

Please do contact the hotel directly if you feel there is anything we could have done differently regarding your stay. I would be pleased to speak with you at anytime.


Jackie Morehead
Best western Plus
Schulenburg Inn & Suites
Schulenburg, Texas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Although the reservation started off bad(reserved 2 rooms 1 bed each instead of normally 1 room 2 beds), the fix on the reservation worked well(Normally 1 Room 2 Queen beds, this time 1 room 1 King bed and a rollaway bed). The cost worked out being less than typical cost($ 150.68 w/ pet fee and taxes vs.$ 158.68 w/ Pet fee and taxes).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
44611, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Schulenburg Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
It's great to hear that the confusion was worked out before you departed our hotel. Its always a disappointment when: what we were expecting when we reserved... is not what is waiting for us when we arrived.

We definitely appreciate your flexibility at arrival.

Wishing you Safe and Happy Travels.. always.


Jackie Morehead
General Manager
Best Western Plus
Schulenburg Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel is currently undergoing ownership change and will begin renovations soon. The rooms are large and accommodating. The morning breakfast provides variety and tasty options. The parking is ample even for a small RV like ours. Downtown Dallas is a short 15 minute drive away. There are plenty of restaurants within a mile. It is a good home base to tour the city and surrounding area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
44611, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Schulenburg Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Looks like the wrong hotel here. Maybe you stayed with us on this trip too and the reviews just ended up posting backwards.

Either way, I am glad your travel experience was a good one.


Jackie Morehead
General Manager
Best Western Plus
Schulenburg Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

All staff at this hotel were kind and courteous. They helped us work out logistics for getting to and from wedding venues, and made suggestions for places to eat. Rooms were clean and had everything we needed .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
44611, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Schulenburg Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for the positive feedback. I'm glad we were able to offer you some good suggestions while you were in our home. Nothing compares to the local favorites.. for sure.

Schulenburg is a beautiful little town and its obvious why its so popular for weddings and reunions. So pleased to hear the wedding was a success as well.

Wishing you all Safe and Happy Travels... always.

Jackie Morehead
General Manager
Best Western Plus
Schulenburg Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazoria, TX
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hotel has a very convenient location just north of Schulenburg. Room was nice which included a sitting area with couch and chair, as well as a desk. Also in the room is a clock radio, microwave, and small refrigerator. Very good Wi-Fi with a speed of about 15Mbps. The Wi-Fi access was hassle free with no codes or special login required. The control for the wall mounted A/C is on the wall, and would only let the temperature be lowered to an indicated 72 degrees. The room felt warmer than indicated but that was as cool as we could get it. An appreciated feature of that A/C is that the fan could be selected to run continuously as the compressor cycled. That helped maintain a relatively constant noise level. The restroom is large and clean. The remote for the TV is labeled as sanitized. There are two premium channels on TV, Showtime and HBO.
Breakfast included waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits and gravy, along with various cold items. Although the breakfast area is small and seating limited, there is an adjacent room that looks like it is intended for meetings that could have been used to eat breakfast in. Adjacent to the breakfast area is a computer and printer for guest use.

Room Tip: Ask for the side of the hotel that doesn't face the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scubaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
44611, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Schulenburg Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
What an AWESOME review!!! Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience with us and travelers everywhere. Great travel tip on requesting the rear of the hotel.. although we don't get many noise complaints about highway noise even on the front.

So glad your stay was a good one and we hope to see you again soon!!!

Safe and Happy Travels.

Jackie Morehead
General Manager
Best Western Plus
Schulenburg Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Excellent hotel, polite and attentive staff. Comfortable rooms and a bed to die for. Best sleep in the area. Breakfast was wonderful and filling just the ticket for a traveler. I will stay there again and again. A real home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
44611, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Schulenburg Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
What a WONDERFUL review!!!! Thank you so much for sharing. We truly do appreciate hearing when we have been successful as well as where we can improve.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Jackie Morehead
General Manager
Best Western Plus
Schulenburg, Texas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schulenburg
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Schulenburg
16.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN La Grange Inn & Suites
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn La Grange
Hampton Inn La Grange
#1 of 7 in La Grange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus
12.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Flatonia Inn
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Schulenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Schulenburg Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Schulenburg Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Schulenburg Inn & Suites
Address: 101 Huser Blvd, Schulenburg, TX 78956
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Schulenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Schulenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Schulenburg Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Schulenburg Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Schulenburg Hotel Schulenburg
Best Western Schulenburg Inn And Suites
Schulenburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing