We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Fairfield standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio NE/Schertz
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Schertz
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not up to Fairfield standards”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our biggest complaint was how hotel staff handled the noise in the pool area since our window was above the pool on the fourth floor. The literature in our room said the pool closed at 10pm. We had to leave early in the morning and needed to get to sleep, so after trying to sleep through the loud screaming and yelling of pool patrons, we finally called the front desk at 11pm and politely shared that the patrons' noise in the pool was keeping us awake. The lady at the front desk rudely informed us that the pool would close at 11pm--in direct contrast to the literature. We've never stayed at a hotel where the pool closed so late. We visit the San Antonio area several times a year and the purpose of a hotel for us is to sleep, so we won't patronize this Fairfield again.

Pros: Room "appeared" to be clean & it had a nice decor
Cons: Bathroom had super strong urine odor, breakfast area around food was dirty & strewn w/ dropped food (worst have ever seen at any hotel) despite not being busy, melons offered at breakfast were old and covered with a slimy coating, and pool area was noisy until 11pm

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not near the pool if you need to get to sleep before 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    31
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
15
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We enjoy staying here because it is easy access to 35 and there is lots to do around the area. The rooms are nice and clean. Management is always friendly and helpful. It was nice that they changed the main course every day and added a fruit medley to the menu.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
231 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a nice overnight hotel located in Schertz, just off I-35 North of San Antonio. It appears to be a newer property because the paint, carpet and wallpaper are in good condition. We had a room on the 4th floor that was quiet, no freeway noise and very clean and fresh smelling. The bathroom floor tile looked new. At check in, Carly was smiling, friendly and thanked me for being a Marriott Elite rewards member. Breakfast was not as appetizing as some I have seen, but I did find something to eat.

Obviously the employees here care about their property, as I was present when one of the employees discovered that someone had scratched graffiti into the inner door of one of the elevators. He seemed genuinely disturbed. It's a shame some would rather reduce a property to what they are used to than enjoying a night somewhere nice.

There is a great HEB grocery store nearby with a good wine selection and well stocked deli and bakery.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4gentexn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel was to fairfield standards but I am a Marriott Elite rewards member and love to stay at Marriott hotels. Here is the thing. THe lady at the front desk when checking us in seemed more interested in flirting with the guy standing at the counter than helping us out. We got up to the room and didn't even think to ask about a mini-cooler in the room because they are usually standard in the rooms. So we went back downstairs and asked to have a room with one, my girlfriend is diabetic and her insulin needs to be kept cool. The lady said that we could keep it in their fridge in the kitchen, umm NO thank you, that is not very convenient to have to ask someone to take your medicine, not to mention coming down the elevator twice a day to have to go back up to take a shot, who wants to lift up their shirt in front of a stranger and give a shot? Then come back down to give them the medicine back! So she then advised, very reluctantly that she would HAVE to upgrade us to a suite for more $$ per night, we didn't argue, my girlfriend's health comes first, but come on, what happened to customer service here. Then she was looking for a suite to put us in, and she was huffing and puffing saying she didn't have one available. By this time about 10-15 minutes passed and that guy was still standing at the counter, like I said she was way more interested in flirting with him than helping us. I am not very satisfied with my experience with this Marriott, I am sad to say.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephnV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I would definately stay here again. Rooms were very nice, clean, and well maintained. The staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful. Pool looked nice though we didn't use it. Great breakfast. Where else can you go and get a waffle in the shape of Texas!!?? Not too far off the interstate as well, which was helpful. Price was exxcellent .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlcwsparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
87 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I've used the meeting room facilities multiple times at this hotel and I've found the staff to be very helpful and accommodating. They are always willing to do whatever it takes to make sure the meeting goes well.

In addition, I've had the opportunity to stay here a few times as well. It's a typical Fairfield property in terms of rooms and style, but it's definitely cleaner than some I've been in.

In addition, the staff is very helpful and the continental breakfast options are always ample.

The location means it is on the edge of San Antonio, but less than 15 minutes from New Braunfels. If you don't need to be downtown, save a little money and enjoy this property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
1,279 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,389 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We thought we'd make it into San Antonio after our long drive from East Texas, and visiting the local Wildlife Ranch, but no way could that be completed in one day! So, we checked out a couple of other hotels/motels near this one-a local motel and then another chain and we didn't like neither of them! We always have liked Fairfield Inn, so off we went and so glad we did. A very decent rate.

Our room was a tad small, but for only one night, not bad. As always, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom small but efficient, the lighting was excellent. I don't find lighting in hotel rooms adequate, and this was a rare exception to the rule. They had lights everywhere, with good wattage bulbs in them and they worked well. No complaints with this hotel, at all and we were happy campers!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schertz
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Schertz
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Atrium Inn
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Schertz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Selma-San Antonio-Randolph AFB
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio NE/Schertz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio NE/Schertz

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio NE/Schertz
Address: 5008 Corridor Loop Rd, Schertz, TX 78154-1181
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Schertz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Schertz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio NE/Schertz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio NE/Schertz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites San Antonio Ne/Schertz
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Ne/Schertz Hotel Schertz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing