We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and Cozy”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanderson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outback Oasis Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sanderson
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We had been driving from San Antonio and I was getting concerned because the town seemed pretty empty. However we arrived at the Outback and were pleasantly surprised. It was a clean and cute room and though the bed sagged in the middle a bit it was still pretty comfortable.

There isn't much in the town though in terms of food, so we ate some groceries we had purchased back in San Antonio.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miarock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2012

This is our home/office/pit stop/video editing haven during practice for the Big Bend Open Road Race. The friendly staff doesn't mind us rebuilding a front bumper, or changing the brakes in the parking lot, and there is plenty of trailer parking space. The rooms are clean and stocked, and the grounds are well-kept. This is far from your run-of-the-mill corporate chain, with more of a "homey" feeling than any motel I've ever stayed in. The miniature snake zoo in the front office is cool to say the least, and the owner will answer all your questions about them without hesitation. Overall a really cool place, give them your money and enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms have covered parking if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I have been making a motorcycle pilgrimage out to Big Bend every year on my motorcycles since 2003.

I have stayed in several properties and the Outback Oasis Motel is one of my FAVORITES! it isn't very ritzy, but the rooms are clean and very nicely decorated in a West Texas kind of way.

The motel owners are also very attentive and personal!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TexasCountryRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Sanderson, when you are bicycling as we were, is a very long way from anywhere, so we would have settled for anything. What a nice surprise this motel turned out to be! It is a refurbished older motel with very nicely maintained grounds and perfectly clean rooms. As a bonus, one of the owners is a snake expert. In a large room off the lobby he has an amazing collection of live snakes and lizards (and a tarantula). To see a large, rattling Western Diamondback safely from one foot away is an experience one soon does not forget. Great spot and the most reasonable price we have had on our trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eyedocagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Stayed one night at the Outback Oasis on our way to Big Bend National Park. Sanderson, TX, is not a large town and not a whole lot going on, either. But this motel was a pleasant surprise. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated, reminiscent of the kind of motel you might find cruising Route 66. The outside is nicely kept and no security issues at all! It didn't appear that there were many guests, so the night was quiet. The bed was a little bit too firm for my taste, but that would not keep me from staying here again if I was ever in this part of Texas. This was a good room for the value and if you need a stopover I recommend staying here for a night.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickers82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outback Oasis Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outback Oasis Motel

Address: 800 West U.S. Highway 90, Sanderson, TX 79848
Location: United States > Texas > Sanderson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sanderson
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing