We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Reviewed September 1, 2008

I let my husband book and find a hotel for our stay in San Marcos. We only needed to stay for one night and I figured I could live with whatever he found. I was pleasantly surprised that this hotel was clean and it also smelled good. You know how some hotels have that stale smell? This one was good considering it's an older place. Our room was clean. There was soap and shampoo and a hair dryer. The water is the kind where you never feel like you get the soap rinsed off and it never got really hot, but, it was tolerable. The a/c worked great and the bed was super comfortable. We had some of the best sleep we've had in a long time.
When we first arrived we were sent to a room that claimed to be non-smoking, but I noticed it didn't have the little sign on the door like some of the others...and when we walked in, I KNEW it used to be a smoking room...that smell just doesn't go away. I called the front desk and she graciously switched us to another room and I was a happy camper from then on out. We were only minutes from the Cheathum Street Warehouse where we went to hear a wonderful band that evening. I would stay here again if I planned on going to Cheathum Street.....even if I didn't drive, it's within walking, or stumbling distance!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margierita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    13
    13
    33
See reviews for
31
9
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baytown, Tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2008

Room was dirty, carpet filthy afraid to walk on with bare feet, cobwebs in bathrooms, sheets had holes in them. Did not fill safe and would not stay here again. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Disliked — room was filthy
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kc2834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Marcos hotels

Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

Non-Smoking only means there is nobody smoking at the moment. Cobwebs in the bathroom; sheetrock coming off walls; filthy carpeting; towels were gray from previous use. No need to complain - Managers are college kids. Very disappointing.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank falsepretenses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hims1980, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, December 22, 2007
Guest had booked smoking room, when arrived at hotel, wanted a non smoking room, we were sold out. We had guaranteed what the guest had made the reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

Don't waste your time, Econolodge in San Marcos is a dump.!!!!
The room had a full size crusty stove, holes in bedspread and door has gaps around the doorframe. Carpeting felt sticky, didn't feel comfortable or safe. I asked for a refund and found another hotel

  • Liked — LOCATION, RIGHT OFF THE FREEWASY
  • Disliked — HOTEL WAS OLD, NASTY AND DIRTY
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

Whatever you do, skip this one! We booked 2 non-smoking rooms through PriceLine, and the rooms were filthy! There were small roaches, no hot water, hair in the bed, and trash under the bed. This is definitely not worth saving a few dollars and I will warn everyone I know not to stay here.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Love2Travel234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 1, 2006

My husband and I were in town for a wedding and he had booked this hotel online. When we got in the room, we were very disappointed. The room was very small, it was not very well lighted, it was dirty, and a weird thing was that the sink was really short. In the bathroom there was a really strange hole near the top of the ceiling. We went to bed and only found two pillows. They were rock hard. I am pregnant so I have to sleep on my side with a pillow between my legs. My sweet husband let me have both pillows.
The blanket on the bed was the scratchiest blanket I have ever seen, I think horse hair would have been softer. The remote to our TV also did not work. The woman working at the front desk tried twice, but she said maybe someone stole the one that was supposed to go with the TV. Overall, I would say the people were nice, but it was VERY overpriced. We paid $90. Next time we will pay an extra 20 bucks and get a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 12, 2005

Very accomodating owners. We had made reservations the Monday before Rita was to hit the South Texas area and they did not ask for a credit card, gave us a courtesy hold. When we wound up getting caught in the nightmare traffic, I called and told them to please not give our room away, that we were trying to make it there... she said not to worry, she still didn't need a credit card and our room would be there. When we arrived at 4:30 a.m. (after a 14-hour trip from Houston area) our room was there - fresh, clean and what I would expect any motel room to look like. During our stay, they were more than accomodating not needing pre-payment and though we had reserved through the weekend, they let us pay day-by-day knowing that we might leave early.

I wouldn't normally stay here for an extended stay, but for a night or two, I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
#19 of 32 in San Marcos
90 reviews
2.2 mi away
Howard Johnson San Marcos
Howard Johnson San Marcos
#17 of 32 in San Marcos
330 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn - San Marcos
Days Inn - San Marcos
#18 of 32 in San Marcos
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Near Texas State University
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn University near Downtown
1.0 mi away
Best Western San Marcos
Best Western San Marcos
#7 of 32 in San Marcos
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 811 S Guadalupe St, San Marcos, TX 78666-6845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge San Marcos is located about a mile away from Texas State University and offers free high speed internet, a free breakfast, outdoor pool, microwaves and refrigerators, and lots of choices for nearby restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge San Marcos
San Marcos Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing