We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Hotel”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have stayed for 3 nights in March during the spring break. The Hotel was dirty. No hot water to take shower with. The TV remote control didn't work. Didn't have extra plows. Don't get fooled by continental breakfast. You would get only danish roll. Coffee was taste awful. Overall, it's not a cool place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MirzaZ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 87 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well, I guess for $80 you can't expect much, BUT hot water would be nice, right? Went with another couple. Our room was fine. There room not so much. The first room they were placed in the air conditioner didn't work. Moved to another room - it REEKED of gasoline. Complained, but there were no more available rooms, so decided to suffer through. They had to leave the window open all night. In the morning, they had no hot water. Complained to management and they said they would make a note - not much satisfaction there. If you're not picky and just need a spot to sleep and shower, then this could be the spot for you.

Room Tip: Get on the back side of the hotel, away from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

get what you pay for. tv wasnt working. only one light was working. look to see why. the outlet was out of the wall. unplugged tv and tried new plug and worked. sheets need to be changed out. made me second guess gettin in bed. i dont have pets and ended up with dog hair on my clothes there. was not cool. and best part. was going to bathroom and to only find with in the first 5 mins of being there, pubes on the tub railing. yea if u stay in 118 let me know if its still there...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touchmesoftly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

On the positive side, this motel has a good location. It's close to downtown San Marcos, and walking distance from the bus/train station, which is the reason I stayed here. The staff was nice and accommodated most of my requests.

However... the room was dirty, the bed was very uncomfortable, and the pool was dirty. And what they advertise as free breakfast was just Danishes, which you could warm up in the microwave, orange juice, and something which I could only assume was meant to be coffee. It made me gag. Thankfully, there was a Krispy Kreme just across the parking lot. If you're considering staying here, don't take the free breakfast into account.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I've stayed at this motel with a group two times on our way back from missions trips to México. In March 2011 (first floor rooms facing the street), it seemed quite the average motel—nothing to grin about, but nothing to complain about either.

However, in June 2012 (second floor facing the back), it was a different story. First of all, the front desk clerk was crashed on the sofa when we first entered to check in. Then, while we were doing business, he talked on his cell phone the entire time. Quite unprofessional. Our rooms were dirtier than the year before, with bugs, stains, and general disrepair in the bedrooms and bathrooms. Having had no real issues the year before, my wife and I were surprised, but everyone in our group was disappointed in the motel, and I'll be making reservations elsewhere next year.

It seems that pretty much all the motels in San Marcos have bad reviews; if you must stay in town, you might have no "good" choice. I'm going to try a nearby town next time.

On the plus side, there are plenty of restaurants nearby, notably Red Lobster, Chili's, and McDonald's. The price is also quite low, and access to the motel is easy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wctnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were in San Marcos for my grandson's graduation from TSU and made reservations at this hotel for our family. On arrival the first impression was a dirty hotel. My room was extremely shabby and when I turned down the sheets, there were "nose pickings" on the sheet. I went to the front desk and asked for our money back and we would move to the Motel 6. The impassive clerk charged us $20 cancellation fee for each of the rooms. The manager, Rich Patel, refused to talk with me regarding the cancellation fee. Another guest was also in the lobby and moving to another hotel.

Econ Lodge should remove their name from the hotel and I have sent an letter to the corporation. The Texas Dept of Health should shut down the hotel.

Motel 6 is San Marcos is clean, bright, priced right and has cheerful staff. Our stay was enjoyable.



Mote

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donlyn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I have been coming to this hotel for about 2 years now and it has been because of the location, The great service and price you get ,i really recommend this place! I get all the basic things i need for a pleasant stay they have free newspaper, cofee regular, Microwave in looby in case you don't get to have one in your room, Refrigerator/ WiFi in each room. Location is great for Outlet Shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hernandezgarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
#17 of 32 in San Marcos
92 reviews
2.2 mi away
Howard Johnson San Marcos
Howard Johnson San Marcos
#20 of 32 in San Marcos
349 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn - San Marcos
Days Inn - San Marcos
#19 of 32 in San Marcos
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Near Texas State University
1.0 mi away
Best Western San Marcos
Best Western San Marcos
#10 of 32 in San Marcos
242 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn University near Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 811 S Guadalupe St, San Marcos, TX 78666-6845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range: $50 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge San Marcos is located about a mile away from Texas State University and offers free high speed internet, a free breakfast, outdoor pool, microwaves and refrigerators, and lots of choices for nearby restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge San Marcos
San Marcos Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing