We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look out for neighbors”
Review of Crystal River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crystal River Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 San Marcos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We found this property on Trip Advisor and thought we would give it a try. We had booked a room on the property in the Rock House which is at the back of the property facing another street- good so far. The inn keeper offered us the upper right front room for the same price, We thought sounds good to us. The issue became apparent at night since the front of the property faces a busy street which has a lot of trucks rumbling by; the train you hear at night, and the neighbor. The next door neighbor is an ice house bar that has a lot of exterior seating and their parking area right next to the inn. They were going well at 3:30 am!! Not a good nights sleep- we should have stayed at the original Rock House which was well away from the sound. Our room was a premium room, look out on the next renter with that. The shame was other than no sleep, the breakfast was good and the innkeeper was very nice. Please keep this in mind when you book.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quicktraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 223 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had the pleasure of getting married recently at CRI and it was a true pleasure in every sense. Starting with the buildings and location: charming, relaxing, full of genteel historic personality. Beautiful flower garden for the wedding ceremony (about 100 guests). Every room in the Inn is maximized for comfort, quiet, and intimacy. Like any place that is still a house, the center of gravity is the large kitchen where the friendly, down-to-earth staff prepared a veritable cornucopia of foods, which were presented beautifully and eagerly enjoyed by all guests! (They even made snacks through the afternoon for the men in the wedding party; nice.) Owner Cathy and her staff were genuine, warm, and extremely attentive to every detail of the wedding, reception, catering, and service, and went out of their way to see to the comfort of their guests. We particularly enjoyed Lexie, who performed her many roles with skill, professionalism, and frisky good humor. At the end of the night, the wedding party effortlessly relaxed into their comfortable rooms on site, and in the morning we were treated to really exquisite, intimate breakfast in the small sky-lighted dining room; the perfect follow-on to a wonderful wedding evening. I guess if I had to summarize what Crystal River Inn was all about for us, it's that there was a balance to everything, and a harmony in the staff and flow of events that made everything feel very relaxed and just right for all guests. There was neither too much nor too little of anything. Cathy and her staff clearly worked their tails off to achieve this, and everyone commented on it. We would strongly recommend CRI for anyone who wants a charming, intimate, fun, delicious, and comfortable wedding and reception, and of course for anyone looking for a weekend getaway. Sad note: Cathy and Mike Dillon, owners, are retiring soon and will probably have sold the inn by the end of this year. Go there soon to partake of their 30+ years of experience providing human fulfillment. For everything, thank you Cathy, Mike, and staff. Paul

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

First time in B&B. Pros: very friendly staff, great breakfast, good location, walk to town, quaint. Cons: banged knee getting into cast iron tub - would be tough for a senior, room dark and not very modern but that is what people like about old B&B. Had to hunt down a hair dryer and shampoo. Miss having a bar. For my tastes would rather stay in hotel. Creepy at night since big old house was empty. In fairness, not in my tastes but others might enjoy this more. Would be great for family reunions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was honored to be part of a large wedding party who rented the Crystal River Inn and it's separate houses for a wedding on June 8. Most of the party stayed June 7 and June 8 and departed on Sunday June 9. The garden wedding was stunning! Owner Cathy and her husband and staff were amazing. Lexy- you are the best, as well. The entire Crystal River Inn Staff were incredibly courteous/helpful and worked so very hard! I've never seen a restaurant or hotel staff work as diligently and still immediately attend to a guest's every need and pleasantly so! The food for the wedding party was wonderful; beautifully prepared/plated and absolutely gourmet! The 2 breakfasts that we were served, as guests, were wonderful too. The Inn felt like our very own historic 'Tara" or Texas style Downton Abbey ;-), as if we were in a family home. Crystal River Inn truly made my best friend's wedding a lasting and exquisite wedding experience and memory.
Thank you to Kathleen next door-the Florist. Kudos to Mink Salon across street who did hair and make-up! You were amazing! I have never attended an easier wedding! Thanks again Cathy! Mary

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ollie123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We've stayed in bed and breakfasts that only appear to be historic, but this is the real thing. This 1880s mansion has been carefully restored and furnished with antiques with the emphasis on comfort. The Dillons and their staff couldn't be more accommodating and their gourmet breakfasts are delicious. My sisters and I loved our girls outing, and I've already booked a room to celebrate our next wedding anniversary at the Crystal River Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our stat at Crystal River Inn was great! The rooms were the prettiest we have ever stayed in! And the Jasmine vines smelled so great! And the little courtyard out back with the flowers, bamboo, little waterfalls. This is no " cooky cutter" Inn.

Room Tip: The Honey Moon suite uses a step stool to get in bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DANNY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed for four nights in early March. The Crystal River Inn is a beautiful bed & breakfast. Unfortunately we stayed in the property next door which was not of the same quality. I did know that we were in the other property but had assumed the rooms and decor would be as nice as the main house. Bizarrely the ground floor of the property next door is used for commercial purposes. There was a florist, hairdressers and massage parlour. There were I think four rooms upstairs. We stayed in a room facing onto the side. There was a large tree directly outside the window so even with the blinds open the room was always quite dark. The extremely dirty windows probably didn't help either! I don't think it was expected that you would open the blinds as when we arrived in daylight both the blinds and curtains were drawn. Because the bed is right up against the window it was very difficult to open the curtains and blinds but we pulled the curtains back and tucked them behind the headrest and then you had to stand on the bed to pull the blinds up.

Although the room looked interestingd with lots of built in bookcases it is not designed for visitors! There was no chest of drawers or bedside tables so all your belongs were strewn all over the bookcases. There was a small glass table to one side of the bed but not even big enough to put the clock radio on which was on the other side of the room with a very dim LED that you couldn't see from the bed/ The wardrobe was an opening in the bathroom with a curtain for a door. Though there were bathrobes in there which was a nice touch.

The bathroom was as you would expect for an old building - freestanding bath with a shower attached surrounded by a curtain. The sink was a strange affair in a circular wooden box. There was no recessed plughole or plug so the only way to fill the sink was to stuff tissues over the opening. There was no hair dryer in the bathroom but I was able to locate a hair dyer in another room so I took that - and did tell the management that I had done so. There was use of a fridge out on the landing and a cupboard there that contained a few spare toiletries and books which was nice.

As I said at the start, the main house is lovely and I was able to look into a ground floor bedroom there which was very prettily decorated and light and airy - very different to the rooms next door.

Breakfast was very good, with lots of fresh fruit, but was not terribly plentiful. I was disappointed that coffee was from a machine in the dining room.

I was also disappointed that having advised that it was my husband's 50th birthday whilst we were there this was not acknowledged in any way what so ever.

San Marcos itself is a small quiet town but quite pretty with a main square and the lake and river running through the park. The only drawback and it is a fairly major one is that wherever you stay in town you will be disturbed throughout the night by the constant stream of train horns blaring. It might not be so bad in modern motels with decent soundproofing but in the B&B there is no double glazing and, as is typical with old sash windows, they don't keep the noise out at all. I kept thinking there must be a window open because the horns seemed so loud. Also, despite it being quite a sleepy town the main road in front of the hotel is very busy and there is quite a lot of traffic noise to contend with too.

I have stayed at a number of B+B's in various parts of America over the last few years so know they are not 5 star hotels but this was by far the most disappointing. Most I have stayed at have had the feel of being almost boutique hotels but the attention to detail here definitely did not give that impression.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Team_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos
3.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 33 in San Marcos
112 reviews
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Marcos, TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Marcos
Hilton Garden Inn San Marcos
#2 of 33 in San Marcos
95 reviews
6.8 mi away
Alexandra's House
Alexandra's House
#2 of 6 in San Marcos
30 reviews
11.7 mi away
Wimberley Inn
Wimberley Inn
#3 of 4 in Wimberley
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal River Inn

Address: 326 W Hopkins St, San Marcos, TX 78666-4404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in San Marcos
Price Range: $125 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the best inns in the area, Crystal River Inn has been a prominent part of the San Marcos community for 33 years. This boutique hotel offers something for every type of guest, whether you are looking for a gorgeous wedding venue and caterer or searching for a relaxing day spa or a fun weekend getaway with beautiful hotel rooms, Crystal River Inn is the perfect choice. Our lodging options include 12 elegant guest rooms with several living spaces available for community use. Our garden makes our bed and breakfast one of the most romantic hotels in the area. Give us a call or visit us online today to find out why we are one of the best local hotels in San Marcos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Crystal River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal River Hotel San Marcos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing