We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding & Stay- Perfection!”
Review of Crystal River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crystal River Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 San Marcos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding & Stay- Perfection!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was honored to be part of a large wedding party who rented the Crystal River Inn and it's separate houses for a wedding on June 8. Most of the party stayed June 7 and June 8 and departed on Sunday June 9. The garden wedding was stunning! Owner Cathy and her husband and staff were amazing. Lexy- you are the best, as well. The entire Crystal River Inn Staff were incredibly courteous/helpful and worked so very hard! I've never seen a restaurant or hotel staff work as diligently and still immediately attend to a guest's every need and pleasantly so! The food for the wedding party was wonderful; beautifully prepared/plated and absolutely gourmet! The 2 breakfasts that we were served, as guests, were wonderful too. The Inn felt like our very own historic 'Tara" or Texas style Downton Abbey ;-), as if we were in a family home. Crystal River Inn truly made my best friend's wedding a lasting and exquisite wedding experience and memory.
Thank you to Kathleen next door-the Florist. Kudos to Mink Salon across street who did hair and make-up! You were amazing! I have never attended an easier wedding! Thanks again Cathy! Mary

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollie123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    27
    24
    22
    13
See reviews for
54
87
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We've stayed in bed and breakfasts that only appear to be historic, but this is the real thing. This 1880s mansion has been carefully restored and furnished with antiques with the emphasis on comfort. The Dillons and their staff couldn't be more accommodating and their gourmet breakfasts are delicious. My sisters and I loved our girls outing, and I've already booked a room to celebrate our next wedding anniversary at the Crystal River Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILANO
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our stat at Crystal River Inn was great! The rooms were the prettiest we have ever stayed in! And the Jasmine vines smelled so great! And the little courtyard out back with the flowers, bamboo, little waterfalls. This is no " cooky cutter" Inn.

Room Tip: The Honey Moon suite uses a step stool to get in bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DANNY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed for four nights in early March. The Crystal River Inn is a beautiful bed & breakfast. Unfortunately we stayed in the property next door which was not of the same quality. I did know that we were in the other property but had assumed the rooms and decor would be as nice as the main house. Bizarrely the ground floor of the property next door is used for commercial purposes. There was a florist, hairdressers and massage parlour. There were I think four rooms upstairs. We stayed in a room facing onto the side. There was a large tree directly outside the window so even with the blinds open the room was always quite dark. The extremely dirty windows probably didn't help either! I don't think it was expected that you would open the blinds as when we arrived in daylight both the blinds and curtains were drawn. Because the bed is right up against the window it was very difficult to open the curtains and blinds but we pulled the curtains back and tucked them behind the headrest and then you had to stand on the bed to pull the blinds up.

Although the room looked interestingd with lots of built in bookcases it is not designed for visitors! There was no chest of drawers or bedside tables so all your belongs were strewn all over the bookcases. There was a small glass table to one side of the bed but not even big enough to put the clock radio on which was on the other side of the room with a very dim LED that you couldn't see from the bed/ The wardrobe was an opening in the bathroom with a curtain for a door. Though there were bathrobes in there which was a nice touch.

The bathroom was as you would expect for an old building - freestanding bath with a shower attached surrounded by a curtain. The sink was a strange affair in a circular wooden box. There was no recessed plughole or plug so the only way to fill the sink was to stuff tissues over the opening. There was no hair dryer in the bathroom but I was able to locate a hair dyer in another room so I took that - and did tell the management that I had done so. There was use of a fridge out on the landing and a cupboard there that contained a few spare toiletries and books which was nice.

As I said at the start, the main house is lovely and I was able to look into a ground floor bedroom there which was very prettily decorated and light and airy - very different to the rooms next door.

Breakfast was very good, with lots of fresh fruit, but was not terribly plentiful. I was disappointed that coffee was from a machine in the dining room.

I was also disappointed that having advised that it was my husband's 50th birthday whilst we were there this was not acknowledged in any way what so ever.

San Marcos itself is a small quiet town but quite pretty with a main square and the lake and river running through the park. The only drawback and it is a fairly major one is that wherever you stay in town you will be disturbed throughout the night by the constant stream of train horns blaring. It might not be so bad in modern motels with decent soundproofing but in the B&B there is no double glazing and, as is typical with old sash windows, they don't keep the noise out at all. I kept thinking there must be a window open because the horns seemed so loud. Also, despite it being quite a sleepy town the main road in front of the hotel is very busy and there is quite a lot of traffic noise to contend with too.

I have stayed at a number of B+B's in various parts of America over the last few years so know they are not 5 star hotels but this was by far the most disappointing. Most I have stayed at have had the feel of being almost boutique hotels but the attention to detail here definitely did not give that impression.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Team_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I got married here. We only had a month to plan, and the staff was excellent at helping us out. On the day of the wedding, not a single thing went wrong, and the beautiful inn was constantly being praised from my out of state family. Truly an amazing place.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the right side of the main house to avoid noise from the bar next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalRiverInn, Public Relations Manager at Crystal River Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
All of us here at Crystal River Inn are so thankful for your kind words. We are so pleased we were able to help make your special day as memorable and stress free as possible. It was a pleasure to have you and your family join us here in the celebration of your marriage.
Best wishes,
Crystal River Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

From our arrival on Friday afternoon until Sunday brunch we were thoroughly blown away and entertained. Complimentary champagne delivered upon our arrival, fresh flowers and chocolates in our room and the friendly staff was beyond our expectations.
The murder mystery was so much fun with everyone in costume and great spirits. Our merry group was such an array of different lives, but they all got into character very, very quickly. From attorneys, engineers and school teachers to housewives they all accepted their challenge to find out “Who Dun it.”
When they tell you an assortment of deserts expect the unexpected - DELICIOUS!!! As was all of our meals – bison steaks rubbed in coffee and whiskey now how unique is that? What fun to watch and listen to the kitchen staff as they prepared our meals and guided us to various areas of the hill country.
Anyone who visits this beautiful bed and breakfast should come away with amazingly good memories with a desire to plan your next trip as quickly as possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalRiverInn, Public Relations Manager at Crystal River Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
All of us here at Crystal River Inn are so estactic to hear you had such a wonderfully fun filled Murdery Myster weekend. It was a blast for us as well. We do about four a year, so please come back and see us!

Crystal River Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Who done it?? I can tell you Mike and Cathy did!!! My daughter and I went to the Murder Mystery Weekend and had a fantastic time. Everything was well planned and exciting. The accomindations were will worth the stay. Very comfortable and very well kept. The cheif was excellent, preparing food in the time era of the mystery. It will be on our places to go again list.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalRiverInn, Public Relations Manager at Crystal River Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much for coming to spend a Murder Mystery weekend with us. We are so glad you had such a wonderful time. It was fun for all of us here as well. We do hope you come back and see us!

Crystal River Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
3.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn San Marcos
Holiday Inn San Marcos
#9 of 32 in San Marcos
46 reviews
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 32 in San Marcos
107 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western San Marcos
Best Western San Marcos
#10 of 32 in San Marcos
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal River Inn

Property: Crystal River Inn
Address: 326 W Hopkins St, San Marcos, TX 78666-4404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest and most famous B&B's in Texas, this romantic Victorian inn and gardens features twelve designer rooms in four historic buildings. It has appeared in numerous publications such as Southern Living, USA Today, and Texas Highways. Features include fireplaces, antiques, canopied beds, fountains, rose garden, soaking tubs, TV's and phones, suites, and fresh flowers. Long-term apartments with kitchens are available. Full gourmet breakfasts are headliner events, featuring such specialties as Eggs Benedict and raspberry French toast. Repeatedly voted "Best Caterer in Hays County", the inn is widely known for its parties, dinners, weddings, business meetings, and especially its hilarious original murder mysteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crystal River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal River Hotel San Marcos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing