We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun with friends!”
Review of San Marcos River Pub & Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
San Marcos River Pub & Grill
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fun with friends!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went with friends from Pecan RV Park. We had seen bill boards throughout the area for the River Pub. Nice view of the San Marcos River. I heard the had the BEST burgers in San Marcos and that is true! We would return again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank colleen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    23
    6
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shiner, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great views with GREAT food!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We was on our way to San Marcos,wanted to try somewhere different to eat at.Went to Tripadvisor.(of course!!)~Searched it.Type the adress in the navagation took us right there!Frist walk in,greeted freindly,the river right there at your feet!!!Friendly staff.Ordered our food,took a little while.not too long though.The waiter brought it out,And i said the presesntation was worth the little wait.THe food was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!GREAT place with the views,service!!!!We WILL be back!!!!!Thanks San Marcos River Pub and Grill!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acrv06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“AHH! What a place on the River”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I didnt eat her but I saw the pub patio when I was walking on the river so I had to go over and see the river veiw from this place. I will come back someday with friends and actually eat on this patio.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“View, flavor and service, what else?”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

With a location like this, it is a rare treat that River Pub has not "slacked" on their fare. In my humble opinion, the BEST burger in San Marcos (and I know my burgers). Also, one of the best chicken fried steaks, best onion rings, chicken strips etc. I no longer venture past the burgers, go ahead, indulge.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DHansen160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Classic San Marcos!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Picked my niece up from her dorm and she suggested we eat lunch at the River Grill because she said the food and atmosphere relaxed my brother after being caught in college town traffic! We sat outside on the porch and watched the kayakers practice (yes, it's December) and frisbee's go back and forth. I had a difficult time orderering, but we both settled on the cheeseburger - hers plain and mine with the works plus bacon and jalapenos. Delicious! The service was excellent and friendly - priced a little high, but the burger was huge and came with a choice of several different sides. so maybe not too bad - probably not on my niece's college student budget, which is why she always suggests it when someone comes to visit, and I won't hesitate to take her back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Marcos River Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing