We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshly prepared food with imagination”
Review of Root Cellar Cafe

Root Cellar Cafe
Ranked #2 of 270 Restaurants in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Freshly prepared food with imagination”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Located right in downtown San Marcos, independent feel with food and beer made fresh to give eat a healthy and tasty experience. Staff was very accomodating as we brought some fussy eaters with us and the service was attentive. It is a bustling and familiar atmosphere so don't go for a quiet high end meal, that is not the style.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MathosJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    89
    25
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Vernia, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“College town favorite”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We met friends at the restaurant, had drinks and dinner. They have a small micro brewery, the beer of the week was smooth and light. Dinner we had crusted pecan chicken with garlic mashed potatoes and NY steak cooked to perfection. Service was good, we had plenty of time to talk and reminisce. They did not rush us out. Cozy atmosphere of the restaurant added to the evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good local restaurant”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Have been here twice. Very good. It is in the basement, low ceilings, but nice atmosphere. Good service. Very good food. Try it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cossatot27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food is average but reasonable. Nice atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We followed the trip advisor tip to eat there. We were not impressed with the food. Everything is greasy. My veggies were swimming in oil. Risotto was tasty but mushy with heavy cheese and butter sauce. We had eaten at the Palmer's the night before. It was much better but a bit more expensive. We ate ribeye and pork chop in both places just to compare. First the ribeye was ny strip in the root celler with too much garlic and not enough salt. The porkchop at palmer's was very juice and with a nice citus sauce. The pork medallion at root cellar was very dry and lack of citus favor to speak of. I would go back to Palmer's but not Root Cellar

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sushigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Guys, Impress Your Date”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

and still have a draft beer. This is the kind of place I would have taken a serious date to forty years ago. The food was very good with a menu that she will appreciate and the prices are reasonable. You can comment on the artwork on the walls and pretend that you know where Tuscany is. No kidding this is a great place for drinks and dinner for anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimPA717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Root Cellar Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Root Cellar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing