We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guys, Impress Your Date” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Root Cellar Cafe

Root Cellar Cafe
Ranked #2 of 264 Restaurants in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Guys, Impress Your Date”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

and still have a draft beer. This is the kind of place I would have taken a serious date to forty years ago. The food was very good with a menu that she will appreciate and the prices are reasonable. You can comment on the artwork on the walls and pretend that you know where Tuscany is. No kidding this is a great place for drinks and dinner for anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JimPA717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    80
    22
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“cute diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

It is located in downtown San Marcos. It is very small and we had to wait 20 minutes, but it was worth the wait. the food tasted very fresh. Great staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MsShira01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Truly a wonderful dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had been here for breakfast before which was delicious so decide to come back for dinner, So glad we did. We started out with brushetta, yummy a green salad with their homemade balsamic vinaigrette which was very tasty. Main entrée Bourbon pecan chicken for the husband and I had pork medallions both flavorful and delicious. Dessert was one of the best tasting bread pudding we have ever had!!! Oh and did I mention the sangria?? To die for. Try this place u can't go wrong.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BREZ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in San Marcos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Everything from the atmosphere to the food was amazing! I had an awesome blueberry mimosa and the best spinach dip I've ever had! My entree was amazing as well! Can't wait to go again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarlGillette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Accidental Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Was sent here by the front desk at a local hotel. Was very impressed with the atmosphere, drinks (including 4 craft beers and Texas wines), food, and service. Walked in at 8pm on a Friday night and were seated right away. Husband had a nice rib eye steak for $25 and I had an really great chicken breast for $10. I recommend trying the scallops appetizer- fresh and light with a nice flavor ($8). Located downtown, but had no trouble finding parking. A hit for sure!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nursetracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Root Cellar Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Root Cellar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing