We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely sanctuary with great foot!”
Review of Root Cellar Cafe

Root Cellar Cafe
Ranked #2 of 270 Restaurants in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Austin, TX
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely sanctuary with great foot!”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

As simple as bruschetta is, theirs is extra fresh. Lovely ambiance. Kid-friendly. Great service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank undinabiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    89
    25
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wedding Brunch”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We held a brunch the day after our wedding here and we were treated fantastic. Buddy was our waiter and he kept my mimosa's full and took great care, but didn't badger us at all. I loved this place and hope more people will visit.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh and unique”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

One of my favorite cafes in San Marcos, wish I lived closer so I could eat there more often...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank collincook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Took a date to dinner here a week ago. Neither of us had been before. The food was well priced for such quality, and so well presented. They have craft beer here too, I enjoyed that.

Very good experience overall, I will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jordanmp627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Love it!!”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I have been here twice recently, once for breakfast and once for lunch. I loved it both times. Food presentation is wonderful. Their food is fresh and clean. I love the dark feeling atmosphere, it feels very secluded and romantic. It is delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Root Cellar Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Root Cellar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing