We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western San Marcos
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in San Marcos
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Room was so clean and fresh (no more citrus smell) that I asked if the room had been remodeled (not yet, but soon), bed didn't hurt wife's back, TV was big, staff was friendly, and they figured out how to cook eggs for breakfast, had a really great stay...

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh44427, Front Office Manager at Best Western San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Mike M,

Thank you so much for your review! It is vital to our success to get feedback from our guests. You are the key to our constant improvement!

Leigh Anne Montgomery
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 253 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here during the TGWA Conference in San Marcos. The rooms were good, with a flat screen television. There was a nice breakfast in the morning and all in all it was quiet (except one morning when someone was yelling outside our room, but that's not the hotels fault). Nothing I can think of to complain about.


  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank DANNY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh44427, Front Office Manager at Best Western San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Good Afternoon Danny M!

We appreciate your taking time from your busy schedule to review our hotel. It is very important to gather the opinions of our guests and use that information to constantly improve our product and service.

We look forward to being your hotel of choice in the future!

Leigh Anne Montgomery
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Charged me for two nights because we booked the night before we arrived. That was my mistake, but there was only 6 or 8 rooms taken the night we were there, so I know it caused them no financial harm.

Also, there was some kind of roach in the bathroom that could have been saddled and ridden around the room. I swatted him with a towel, but he got away. Will never stay there again. Don't like to be taken advantage of.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank gordon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manibhai P, Owner at Best Western San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2017

We thank you for submitting your review. We value all responses as we use them to help us provide superior service for you and future guests. We do hope we will be seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights recently and had a nice experience. The best thing of all was the staff. Everyone was very nice and seemed to work hard at keeping everyone happy. The room itself (room 103) was nice with a king size bed that was very comfortable with a small sofa sleeper. We did not use the sleeper in our room but another group traveling with us tried using theirs and said the springs were sticking out of it so they had to get a roll away bed. The only issue we had was the shower head. When you tried to adjust the angle of the shower head the entire fixture moved, but no big deal. The room was clean with a fridge and microwave.

The breakfast was good, although the area to sit and eat was very small. Whenever they ran out of something a staff member was there refilling it immediately. They had scrambled eggs, sausage, Texas shaped waffles, cereal, fruit, pasteries, and yougurt. Not bad.....

The parking lot is extremely small and I'm not sure how they can fit all the cars in it if the hotel is full. We had no problem as the hotel wasn't full but it is small.

All in all it was a nice hotel with easy access onto 35. We will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Since they do not have an elevator I would recommend one of the first floor on the back side (odd nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sannd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manibhai P, Manager at Best Western San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2017

We thank you for submitting your review. We value all responses as we use them to help us provide superior service for you and future guests. We do hope we will be seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night after shopping at the Outlets and we had a good experience.

The room was large and clean, not very clean but ok. We would suggest, that they could invest in some updating at this place, especially they should have an elevator for the second floor.

We stayed at the backside of the Motel, hoping, it would be quieter. There was not much interstate noise to hear, but some stupid barking dogs from some neighborhood yards. As a business owner, I would talk to these people to find a solution for that, since this is disrupting many good sleeps at this motel. Other than that, we liked the place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobSch67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manibhai P, Owner at Best Western San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2017

We thank you for submitting your review. We value all responses as we use them to help us provide superior service for you and future guests. We do hope we will be seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank LINDA S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manibhai P, General Manager at Best Western San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I staff were very helpful and fast to check in and out. Breakfast was fresh and ready for early morning departure which was nice. The room were very quite and the beds soft.
The towels can use some comfort softener,
I was very happy overall with my stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank ALLEN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manibhai P, Manager at Best Western San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2017

We thank you for submitting your review. We value all responses as we use them to help us provide superior service for you and future guests. We do hope we will be seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Marcos, TX
2.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 33 in San Marcos
112 reviews
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Near Texas State University
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Marcos Outlet Mall
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Marcos
Holiday Inn San Marcos
#10 of 33 in San Marcos
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western San Marcos

Address: 917 I-H 35 North, San Marcos, TX 78666-7036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range: $84 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western San Marcos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marcos Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing