We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Near Texas State University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites Near Texas State University
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in San Marcos
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very nice room, very clean. Great breakfast in the morning. When researching hotels for our weekend stay, I'd found that all hotels in the area have higher prices than I'd expected. But, this Comfort Suites seemed to be the nicest hotel at the best price. I'm happy I wasn't wrong.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    27
    12
    11
See reviews for
42
15
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have no clue what probably very overpaid mental ingrate came up with the moronic idea little half pillows are cute. They may be cute but I am going to stop staying at Comfort Suites because I want a real pillow. I opened the closet just hoping for a real pillow. Nope it was another tiny one. The entire chain uses these lousy little mental ingrate pillows.
As far as this location goes I had a nice clean room with five tiny pillows on the bed. John at the desk was extra nice offering good service.
If you have no problem with mental ingrate tiny pillows, it is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were just in town for the night and found everything we need in a hotel here. The room was clean and smelled clean. Breakfast was what we've come to expect from a free hotel breakfast, everything was fresh.

My biggest delight actually had to do with breakfast. We came downstairs and were thrilled to see the dining area television tuned to Nickelodeon instead of a news channel! It was a great way to start our Saturday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We have visited many CS, but were quite disappointed with this one. Nothing amazing here, just a standard hotel. We would probably not revisit this location. Initial room had a a/c that was not functioning...told staff at desk 3 times before we were moved to another room. Friendly, just not very proactive. Breakfast was just ok. Nothing fabulous:(

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank budgetworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was just about what one might expect to experience at a Comfort Suites. The lobby, breakfast area, and elevator could cause a little apprehension, but the room was nice, clean, and appeared to have been remodeled recently. One great plus was the air conditioner which shut down instead of running constantly all night long. The television is located adjacent to the bed, which makes it somewhat difficult to watch it from the "suite" area; my pet peeve with all Comfort Suites. The hotel is a little high on the number of reward points they charge if you wanted to use Choice Privilege points for your stay, but then the other two adjacent motels are also overly proud of their facilities. Parking security appeared to be very good with a video monitoring system located at the front desk. Great location for dining with a cafeteria and restaurants in walking distance. Absolutely no complaints with the breakfast selections.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the freeway have minor traffic noise; rooms on the backside might be little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Grumpyworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was a nice hotel! Good breakfast (with meat) in the morning & generally a nice place. We just needed a place to crash for the evening & get up & go again the next day, & it served that purpose! I would recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmidt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we stayed here on a recent trip to the outlet malls in San Marcos. Our room was fine, our daughter's room had a problem with the water and she and her husband had to come to our room for their shower. Our air conditiner wouldn't shut off and we had to have maintenance come and figure out how to shut it off. Price wasn't bad but with the water issue, i would think we would have gotten some type of refund. Clean but not spectacular, nice but not really nice. Okay for one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn San Marcos
Comfort Inn San Marcos
#11 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn - San Marcos
Quality Inn - San Marcos
#13 of 31 in San Marcos
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN San Marcos
BEST WESTERN San Marcos
#7 of 31 in San Marcos
3.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Near Texas State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Near Texas State University

Property: Comfort Suites Near Texas State University
Address: 104 N Interstate 35, San Marcos, TX 78666-6860 (Formerly Comfort Suites San Marcos)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Near Texas State University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites in San Marcos is easily accessible to all area attractions including Texas State University, Outlet shopping, Wonderworld and within a short drive of Schitterbahn & Austin as well. The hotel offers interior corridors, elevator, pool, business center, exercise room, and a wonderful free hot breakfast with rotating menu. We hope to be of service to you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Suites Near Texas State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
San Marcos Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing