We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Near Texas State University
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in San Marcos
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We were in town overnight for a family gathering with our child. The fold out sofa was uncomfortable for our child, but everything else was good. The bed was very comfy and the room was very clean. Will stay here again for quick trips in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foogurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 95 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

This was our 2nd visit to San Marcos but with a student at Texas State we will have ample opportunities to try the various properties in San Marcos. This hotel is located as part of a "cluster" that includes the Comfort Suites, Hampton Inn and Holiday Inn located near the Chili's just off of I-35. The front parking lot is small and confusing (recommend parking in the rear) and you walk past the outdoor pool as you enter the lobby. Yes you have to walk outside the hotel to reach the pool. There are towels poolside and in spite of the 100 plus degrees the water was refreshingly cool. The registration counter in the lobby overlooks the larger breakfast area. While there are not many tables in the immediate area, they do open the meeting room down the hall for the overflow during the complimentary breakfast hours. With 2 waffle makers in addition to the hot breakfast items the wait is not long. They smartly have several stations instead of one long counter which makes it easier to get your food items. From yogurt and cereal to pastries and muffins there are options to please all. The small elevator off the lobby transports at a leisurely pace to the upper floors. While the noise from the highway seems muted at night it is louder during the day so you might want to request a room away from the street. While the room was clean enough and had some unusual touches I was disappointed with some of the basics. Our closet door looked more like it was the connecting door to the adjacent room and the fact that it was difficult to open only added to that illusion. Refrigerator and microwave were the usual offerings and always handy to have. No new plasma flat screen TV but all the channels were available. If pay per view or other entertainment options were offered we could not find them. Internet access was a bit tricky so I was not able to use my laptop. All in all it was acceptable although it won't be my first choice for future stays. It definitely beats the La Quinta and is on par with the Best Western. If you keep in mind that the hotels are used by visiting parents, families tubing the river and shoppers for the outlet centers you can understand the wear and tear factor. It is convenient to the campus and offers easy freeway access. The rate at the hotel was reasonable in comparison to others in the area and having the extra sitting area is always an added benefit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LivLuvLax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were very clean, and the staff was very pleasant. I was very impressed with their security. Our key cards quick working because my husband put them next to his credit cards, and the staff was very nice about asking for my ID - just for our safety! The location of this hotel was great. We were very close to the outlet malls and had plenty of great restaurants around us!! A+!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelleys62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed here as a base to go to the great outlet malls in San Marcos, as well as to explore the area a little. Overall, I guess it was OK, but we really left with a bad feeling about it.

Pros:
Location is right along interstate maybe one exit from the malls with several restaurants around

I was able to get it for a reasonable price even though some of the other hotels in the area were booked

Cons:
Parking was a bit of a challenge, as the hotel feels like it was squeezed onto the property

The room smelled funky

The remote had a sign that said return to front desk. When I tried to, they didn't really seem to know what was up with that.

We saw a mouse in the hallway that ran into the breakfast area.

The breakfast was understocked.



As you can see, the cons outweighed to pros for us and we will look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonB1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

You know, after this night my traveling companion and I decided to try other hotels than Comfort Inn & Suites, even though we get membership perks for using them and used to be big fans. This place was fine, the staff was very nice, but... there was poor lighting in the room (energy-saving bulbs). This is a real problem now in hotels for those of us who like to, uh, READ. Unless you want to lie in bed next to the lamp or huddle under a desk lamp, you're out of luck. Also, there was dirt in the corners of the bathroom, bits of debris in the room, and the lamps needed dusting. These seem like very small things, but if travelers can see it, why can't the housekeeping staff? When you see these small things you wonder what else has gone undone. For the next 7 nights of our travels we stayed at other hotel chains. It was mighty handy having a Luby's next door...we ate there for dinner and breakfast. BTW, the sofa in the suite was too soft to sit on comfortably. There is not a lot of choice in this area and I would not discourage anyone from staying here, but I can't rave about it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moniquepeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Without doing research, we booked this hotel at the last minute from our car. Getting through Austin at rush hour had us worn out but from the minute we walked in, we knew the day was improving. It was quiet, immaculate, and the location was great--right in the middle of three restaurants--all excellent. Even though it was Feb., the clerk assured us the hot tub would be ready for us and it was. This hotel would be excellent for singles or couples. There was a sign indicating a no-tolerence policy on noise so bringing a young group of athletes might not be a good idea.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Indianatraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We decided to try this hotel instead of our usual location next door at the Hampton Inn. I'd have to say that I like the Comfort Suites better. The bed was better and both the living area and bathroom were larger. I don't like the five small pillows, but since we drive, our pillows come with us from home. The staff was very friendly and the property was very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilley2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Marcos, TX
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Marcos Outlet Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 33 in San Marcos
111 reviews
4.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Marcos
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Near Texas State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Near Texas State University

Address: 104 N Interstate 35, San Marcos, TX 78666-6860 (Formerly Comfort Suites San Marcos)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range: $80 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Near Texas State University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites in San Marcos is easily accessible to all area attractions including Texas State University, Outlet shopping, Wonderworld and within a short drive of Schitterbahn & Austin as well. The hotel offers interior corridors, elevator, pool, business center, exercise room, and a wonderful free hot breakfast with rotating menu. We hope to be of service to you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Suites Near Texas State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
San Marcos Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing