We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best bar and grill of San Marcos”
Review of The Tap Room

The Tap Room
Ranked #19 of 273 Restaurants in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night
San Marcos, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best bar and grill of San Marcos”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Give off a great vibe. Location is in the heart of San Marcos. Plenty of booze to choose from. Hands down best bar that has a lil but of everything and everything that is good!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bsweeney44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    44
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I love everything about this place!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I've been living in San Marcos for about a year and a half and I absolutely love this place. Coworkers and I will come here after a long day at work and we're never dissatisfied. The beer is awesome, the ppl are fun, and the burgers are one of a kind. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The burgers here are the best i've tasted in texas. They are served on yeast buns and are too big to finish.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you get a chance try their burgers. Keep in mind it is a bar in a college town. Loud and no frills atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jattaschlegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Bar Experience”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Awesomeness in all their burgers! I had the Swiss and mushroom burger, excellent period. No mystery meat between these buns! Anyway, great college atmosphere, at least before 6:30 :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovelifealil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tons of beer in tap”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Love this place for it's wide variety of beers! Wednesday's special are wings...some of the best I've ever eaten. If you can mind the smoke it's not too bad. If you go before 5, outs not too bad!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tap Room also viewed

 

Been to The Tap Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing