We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good College Burgers”
Review of Grins Restaurant

Grins Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 273 Restaurants in San Marcos
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Whether you’re craving a World Famous Hamburger with Texas-size homemade onion rings, delicious catfish, steaks, or sizzlin’ fajitas our menu offers something for everyone. We have large salads and vegetarian plates as well. Come in and try our famous strawberry frozen margaritas, buckets of ice cold beer, and pitchers of Sangria wine coolers. For over 38 years Grins Restaurant has been making people smile. Our friendly waitstaff will make you feel right at home. The rambling rooms provide the perfect atmosphere for any size party. Our spacious tree shaded deck is the perfect place to catch up on some studying or enjoy an evening with friends and family. Grins is truly a one of a kind restaurant with great food in a relaxing environment. Its great for lunch or for a night out with the family.
DSergi
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good College Burgers”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Grins is a San Marcos college classic. The burgers and juicy and the fries are perfect. The College Steak Special is a classic, a decent size rib eye and fries for about 7 bucks.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DSergi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    48
    19
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place for a casual meal”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our group of about 30 went for lunch on a Saturday afternoon. The service was fantastic and they happily split our bills. I had the fish tacos. The crust was a bit spicy and delicious and the fish was fresh. Many of our party had burgers and enjoyed them. The onion rings were enormous and fresh and delicious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
1 review
“This is the kind of place you find by luck somewhere driving across the country, but is such a treat to find it 10 minutes from ”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife, daughters, and I were looking for somewhere new to go and we decided to give Grins a try. I would liken this place to the Gristmill in Gruene, TX but on a San Marcos scale. We ate out on the patio and had excellent food, service, and experience. We started off with the huge onion rings and all had burgers. Being a connoisseur of all that which is spicy, I took them up on their challenge of the XXX Burger. Damn!! This hamburger checked my ego! It was just not too hot to eat and I finished every bite. After 6 or 7 minutes I was fully recovered and stopped sweating. This was without a doubt the spiciest and best burger ever!!!
I cannot wait to go back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pmolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and Great Drink Prices”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Located in the scenic hills of San Marcos next to Texas State University, this is a great place to relax. They have really great happy hour prices! The burgers and chicken fried steak are great!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kitkat681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“More of a college hang out.”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Food was good, burgers were average. Fun atmosphere, but is more for college students. Great service!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grins Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Grins Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing