We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican Resturant”
Review of Herbert's Taco Hut

Herbert's Taco Hut
Ranked #5 of 268 Restaurants in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Resturant”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The way to tell a good mexican resturant is by their hot sauce. Found this on trip advisor. It was obviously a local hangout judging by the croud. Alll the tables were full, we didn't have to wait long. Everybody got something different and everyone was happy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deb78063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    67
    26
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fast, delicious, big portions!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Service was friendly and attentive! The chips and hot sauce were excellent. The beans were great and I definitely recommend Herbert's. the prices were very reasonable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaGreenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“BEST TEX-MEX IN TOWN!!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

There is an ongoing duel between Herbert's and Garcia's, and Herbert's wins for me every time - I wish I could have some right now! The plates take about 5 minutes to prepare and they're always delicious. Service is quick and the place is always crowded but delicious. The salsa can have very hot days, so be careful if you don't like it full heat. I recommend the queso and cheese enchiladas, or one of the sampler plates. Everything is amazing!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Classic Tex-Mex”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Herbert’s is classic Tex-Mex. It’s not fancy, but it’s got a hell of a lot of character….the way I prefer and it’s much like another icon, Chope’s (La Mesa, NM) in that regard. The food is perfect example of Tex-Mex with tons of bubbling cheese; they have outstanding queso and cheese enchiladas. The service is typically very fast (sometimes too fast), and generally friendly. The only knock I have on Herbert’s is that they don’t offer raw jalapenos (pickled only) and serve only beer and wine-based margaritas. Aside from that, it’s tough to beat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXtraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Has seen better days”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

This place was AWESOME in the 80s but has slowly declined. Too small of a place, but has great character! A must to check out if you're visiting San Marcos.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aa1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herbert's Taco Hut also viewed

 

Been to Herbert's Taco Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing