We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally fine food and some class in San Marcos”

Cody's Bistro & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Cody's Bistro & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 269 Restaurants in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cody's opened in October 2012. We are locally owned and managed, having San Marcos as our home for over 20 years. Our goal is to provide a customer experience that will garner your loyalty and allow us to build upon the diligence and attention to detail that you deserve.Cody's management team has over 25 years of experience in the hospitality industry.Located in Centerpoint Plaza - across from Premium Outlets and next to Starbucks.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
172 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Finally fine food and some class in San Marcos”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I thought I had wrote a review in this place already! I started coming to Cody's just after they opened until I moved away from San Marcos in May of 2013. A good test of a place is to see what it's like if you don't go for 6 months. I visited in December with my girlfriend and found the food just as good, the bar and wait staff great, and was happy to see that if anything they have improved their winning formula. It's so nice to have an upscale lounge/cafe in San Marcos, a place otherwise dotted with college bars and chain restaurants. It's quiet, great for a date, and they have a good happy hour too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 5GMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    42
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice romantic dinner”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I am so glad there is a Bistro Bar in San Marcos. The service is outstanding, the food is unbelievable good, menu is moderate price but it's well worth it, if you're not kid friendly this is the right place to go for a romantic dinner. You will love the bar menu!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Response to "Awful"”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This review is in response to the "Awful" review posted earlier this month. The comment about rat infestation is absolutely not true. My family and I have been there many times and experienced nothing but a clean, friendly environment. Such an accusation sounds like possible jealous competition, I'm not sure but I do know it is false. I also know is that Cody's has great food, fantastic cocktails and friendly service. I would definitely recommend to any fellow San Martians or out of town visitors.

Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stop”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to the outlet and was turned on to Cody's by a rep at Michael kors. We stopped for margaritas which were great but decided to order a drink that I always order ( Malibu and 7). It was unlike my drink. The bartender added a lime, no brainer, but then added a twist of grapefruit peel. That made this drink so amazing! I now wouldn't want to have it any other way. Best stop of the trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank yleija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Unprofessional staff and slow service. The establishment is clearly infested with rats. The food was overpriced and bland. Very disappointed with the whole experience. I certainly would not ever go there again or recommend it to anyone. I

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie M, Business & Finance Manager at Cody's Bistro & Lounge, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We appreciate your recent review. We truly attempt to provide each and every customer a positive experience when visiting Cody's. We see that this is your first Trip Advisor review and looks like you joined just to provide your review. We find your review both interesting and incorrect – interesting that out of 13 Trip Advisor reviews that yours falls way below other reviews and inconsistent with the same; incorrect in that your review has no validity. The General Manager talked to every table yesterday – we would have liked to hear your concerns at that time if you were in our establishment – that is why we are there. If you can provide us the date and time of your visit, the name of the unprofessional staff member, where you saw the rats, what you had for your meal, and how it was bland, we would be more than happy to correct any areas after our investigation based on your information. If we find your review factual, we would be glad to have you back to Cody’s for an experience that all of our customers receive, and deserve. We look forward to the requested information so that we can begin our investigation. Thanks again for your review. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cody's Bistro & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Cody's Bistro & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing