We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable & excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Candlewood Suites
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable & excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Employees were really friendly & nice. My husband & I were suppose to check in on Saturday but got my days mixed up & the gentleman at the front with no problem approved us to check in on Friday! Rooms were spacious & clean. If I needed to stay at this hotel again I definitely would, & oh yeah you couldn't hear any train station or noise from the highway! Awsome hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephieeLeandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandawilkscws, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear StephieeLeandra,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed it and that our staff was accommodating! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Safe travels and continue enjoying the IHG and Candlewood Suites Brand!

- Amanda W., DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    33
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
33
14
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed overnight due to an event in town and didn't want to drive home. I found the suite to be spacious and clean. The bed was very comfy. I read that others complained about the train horn. Yes, I heard it but it didn't "Wake" me up. Never heard the elevator ding dong either. Slept very peacefully. Pillows were comfortable too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkikker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandawilkscws, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Funkikker!

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed it and look forward to your return! Safe travels till then!

- Amanda W., DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Pass, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Overall this was an average hotel. The beds were semi comfortable but the pillows were extremely hard. The customer service was satisfactory. The parking lot was kind of dark. Many lights were either off or not working. This could be a safety issue.

Room Tip: Select room facing parking lot so you can view your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyingEagle86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandawilkscws, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Ron R.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. The lights in the parking lot have been recently fixed as we acknowledged the safety issue it could present. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our staff and look forward to your next visit. Let us know next time you're coming into town and we'll place some feather pillows in your room. Safe travels till then!

- Amanda W., DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My family wanted to shop at the Outlet Mall in San Marcos and we were glad to find the Candlewood Suites in San Marcos. It's a relatively new hotel and we found this hotel very clean and comfortable - even has a pool. The staff was awesome and super helpful. We would definitely recommend this to our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ColdStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandawilkscws, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear ColdStar,

Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience and staff was stellar! Let us know next time you're in town and continue enjoying the Candlewood Suites and IHG Brand! Safe travels!

- Amanda W., DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have stayed in this facility on numerous occasions when traveling to the area for work. It is clean comfortable and has all the amenities I need when I have to be away from home for a week or more. If your job requires you to be away from home for any length of time, I highly recommend this facility. The customer service is exceptional, the rooms are clean and the building is located close to everything. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you need a place to stay for more than one night. This is the right place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Country_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandawilkscws, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Big_Country_Dave,

Thank you for your review! We love to hear when guests truly enjoy their experience with us and overjoyed to know we provided you with exceptional service! Let us know next time you're headed to the area and continue to enjoy the IHG Brand hotels! Till then, safe travels!

- Amanda W., DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Ugh....this hotel felt incredibly cheap and cheesy to me. This is a workmans overnight stay not a family vacation getaway. Between the barking dog in a room down the hall to the trains ALL NIGHT LONG, we got out of there asap. Oh and no breakfast either. The elevator is slow, the hallways are HOT, the towels are stiff....never again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AprilFlowers423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandawilkscws, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear AprilFlowers423,

We apologize for your unsatisfactory stay. We are working on a silence ordinance with the city to quiet the trains at the train crossing and wish we could have done something to deter the dog next door from barking. We'd like to let you know a little bit about the Candlewood Suites brand of IHG. We are an extended stay hotel, and it is our deepest apologies you were not informed of this at check in. With the extended stay model, housekeeping service is done once every 7 days and we do not have a free hot continental breakfast, rather breakfast items for purchase in the 24/7 Candlewood Cupboard. This is also why each suite comes with a fully equipped kitchen. We would love the opportunity to make your next stay 1000% better, so next time you're headed to San Marcos, give myself or the General Manager a call. Till then safe travels and thank you for your review.

- Amanda W., DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

While trying to check-in we were advised that the hotel didn't have a reservation for us....oh wait they did find it but they said it was for September (3 months away). What? The girl behind the desk was adamant that we did not book a room for that day. But, when I pulled out a printed confirmation and showed her, things started to change. The manager walks up and says he will make things right and finds us a room. Under her breath the girl tells the Manager that they will be overbooked..... First impressions mean a lot and this started off bad.

We got into the room and were pleased with how nice they were. The reviews on noise are spot on, the traffic sounds from I 35 will keep light sleepers up all night until exhaustion sets in. Wish I knew about the earplugs. One thing trending that I don't like is the AC units cutting completly off when the set temperature has been reached. I like the fan to run continuously, cuts down on outside noise. Oh well, you have been advised, good travels to you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandawilkscws, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Wendell S,

I'd like to apologize for your unsatisfactory experience. It appears there had been a clerical error made prior to your check in through the system. However, we also agree first impressions are everything, and we hope to make it up to you on your next trip to San Marcos. As for the outside noise, we'll be sure to also have a pair of earplugs waiting for you upon your arrival! We are working on getting a silence ordinance on the train from the city at this time. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you next time!

- Amanda W., DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Courtyard San Marcos
Courtyard San Marcos
#6 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn San Marcos
Holiday Inn San Marcos
#9 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Marcos
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites

Property: Candlewood Suites
Address: 600 Wonder World Dr, San Marcos, TX 78666-5945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Our place, your space!" Come enjoy a home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing