We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson San Marcos
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in San Marcos
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Excellent location to get to the outlet malls and the university. Cheap choice that includes a basic breakfast. I arrived late and they had everything ready to Check in, the reception was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hehehenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim8610, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your business and please contact me if I can ever be of assistance.mike patel general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 354 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel was close to everything and easy to find. The room was a bit dated for my taste. The bed was confortable and the AC worked just fine. The room was clean with the exception of the restroom. There were jets in the tub, but they looked as if they hadn’t been used or cleaned in some time, so we showered. I also noticed that the exhaust fan above the tub was full of dust. I felt that the hotel was a bit pricey based on what was offered. It was a little cramped during breakfast, as there are only two tables. However, the selection was pretty good. The biggest complaint we have is that on our second night, they ran out of parking spaces. I went into the office, and they instructed us to park in the gravel next to the pool. There were 2 other cars parked in the grass nearby. However, they were the cheapest room in town with a better than average rating. I would stay there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim8610, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience at our hotel.

We apologize for the poor service you received from our staff during your stay. That is definitely not up to the standards we set for customer service, and corporate has been notified. We will be investigating this matter to ensure poor service such as this does not continue. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact me mike patel at your earliest convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our visit to Texas State University required a one night stay in San Marcos. I reserved the room online and received my Military discount. We arrived late in the night. The reception was friendy and succinct. Our room was clean and comfortable. Everything worked perfectly ie Internet, TV, bath and shower. The night manager met all of our needs. Breakfast was included and my daughters commented that the waffles and cereals were exceptionally good. Check out was quick and uneventful as we left early to begin our day. I would stay at this location again if the need arose.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim8610, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your business and please contact me if I can ever be of assistance.mike patel general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. It was awesome because it's very affordable with great customer service, breakfast with it's location close to downtown area. I had lots of with travel guide information for to San Antonio and Austin. It was the best experience ever in my life to be a part of. I recommend the Texas waffles with five star rating.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audleafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim8610, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your business and please contact me if I can ever be of assistance.mike patel general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kim8610, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We checked to make sure pets were not prohibited. Then, after we had checked in and in our room for about an hour, we were told we could not have our dogs in our room. Well, now it was almost 9 at night and really too late to find another room. They charged as $40 for the two small well behaved dogs.
Room was a flash back to the 70s. 70's decor, 70's paint scheme. Just plain tacky. Not to mention, the room smelled old.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRISTROKES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim8610, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience from you stay with us. I certainly understand your frustration given the problems you experienced during your stay. I have shared your comments with our team to take immediate corrective action. I would appreciate the opportunity to address this with your personally. If you would, please drop me an email at mayank_363@yahoo.com. Thank you, mike patel, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Cicely K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kim8610, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
0 mi away
Quality Inn University near Downtown
1.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
#18 of 33 in San Marcos
93 reviews
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Marcos, TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Days Inn - San Marcos
Days Inn - San Marcos
#20 of 33 in San Marcos
216 reviews
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Marcos
1.2 mi away
Best Western San Marcos
Best Western San Marcos
#9 of 33 in San Marcos
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson San Marcos

Address: 1601 N Interstate 35, San Marcos, TX 78666-6711 (Formerly Stratford Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range: $51 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson San Marcos 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ve come to the right place for exceptional service and a prime location off Interstate 35 at the gateway to Texas Hill Country when you stay at our Howard Johnson San Marcos hotel near Texas State University.Our friendly 24-hour front desk staff is just waiting to answer questions and tell you about our terrific amenities such as free Rise & Dine continental breakfast, free daily newspaper, free Wi-Fi Internet access, copy service and our guest laundry. Take a swim in our year-round outdoor pool, and cook up a tasty meal in our barbeque area. Non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms are available at our San Marcos, TX, hotel. For your convenience, we offer limited room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Howard Johnson San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
San Marcos Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing