We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay when visiting San Marcos, Texas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay when visiting San Marcos, Texas”
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We stayed at the Hampton Inn and Suites in San Marcos for one night this April. It was very clean and comfortable. The hotel appeared to be newer and the lobby itself was very pretty. Location wise it was great. Just off I-35 with easy access to downtown San Marcos and Texas State. There was a Chili's right out front of the hotel, as well as a McDonald's and Whataburger.

Parking was plentiful and the front desk attendants were very nice. I would very much recommend this hotel if you are passing through or visiting San Marcos.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler1022Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    156
    67
    13
    16
See reviews for
211
75
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2008

Staying at the Hampton is like staying with an old friend. One knows what to expect, and by golly, that's what one finds. Other reviews for the San Marcos Hampton are good to great, and I will not quibble. The front desk was competent, friendly, and helpful. The in-room services were appropriate and good. The complimentary breakfast was as good as that served in any Hampton in which I've stayed.

One of my traveling companions had a little problem with laundry. The laundry was sent out the second day of our four day visit and did not return until the evening of the last night. So, my advice is that if a guest needs laundry done, have it done early in the visit, or make certain one agrees with the people at the hotel on a firm deadline for returning the order.

The Hampton-San Marcos is conveniently located in one has his or her own automobile to downtown San Marcos and to the near by Texas State University. The hotel is in easy walking distance from several restaurants.

I will stay again in the hotel if I return to San Marcos, Texas. All in all, it was a pleasant visit.

  • Liked — Clean, friendly, what was expected
  • Disliked — slow wireless internet connection
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta ga
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Great Stay at this Hampton. Nice Lobby, Nice Suite with lots of room, Good Gym albeit small, Plenty of restaurants around and within walking distance, Friendly Staff, Fast hardline internet in rooms, Flat Screen TV's.

  • Liked — Location, Nice Suite
  • Disliked — Limited Parking
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, TX
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

Our child is in school at San Marcos, so we've sampled a number of properties in the area. This is by far the nicest hotel/motel in San Marcos! Clean, comfy, good breakfast - it's a winner. The price is similar to other properties in town - and it feels a lot more upscale than most of the others. Staff was super-helpful. Just a great experience!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, comfort, overall appearance
  • Disliked — Pool is pretty small/standard - set out in parking lot!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BootsCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

We stayed at this Hampton Inn the first part of December, 2007.. Our room was clean and check-in went fine. About 3:00am the noise started from the UPS facility next door with trucks arriving and leaving. We could also hear noise from the hallway or room above us. At breakfast, which was a good cont. breakfast, the people seated next to us asked if we were shopping the outlet mall. We had arrived late and did not shop the evening before, but had plans to shop on this day. Their vehicle had been broken into the night before and all of their packages taken. They were parked at the front of the hotel. There were signs posted about locking your car in the parking lot, but at check-in they did not suggest that we not leave anything in the car. All of their Christmas was gone. Between the UPS and the theft, I would not choose this hotel again.

  • Liked — well know hotel chain
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grammy&grumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

When traveling without my family I prefer to stay at Hampton Inns. I simply find them the best for business travel: free internet, quick free simple hot breakfast and comfy beds.

Here's the good and bad:
Good
1. Friendly staff.
2. After a long day of travel, I value quick check in. They were fast.
3. Close to restaurants.
4. Clean

Bad
1. This particular hotel I found difficult to get to.

Overall a good hotel.

  • Liked — Close to a wicked outlet mall!
  • Disliked — Difficult to get to.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Iamuzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

The San Marcos Hampton is set back off of I-35 behind the Comfort Suite Inn (exit 200). The entrance to the hotel driveway from the frontage road can be easily missed if you are not paying close attention.

The front desk was helpful and courteous and called once we arrived to our room to make sure it was OK.

The side access door from the parking lot is supposed to be accessible only by guests with a room key but it was not secure. You only had to pull the handle and the door would release. Definitely a security issue especially when you take note that directly behind the Hampton is a very intimidating chain link fence with rolled barbed wire on the top of it protecting the business behind the hotel. It gives the impression that you may not be in the safest part of town.

As mentioned in other reviews, the carpet is very stained and needs to be replaced. It's appearance downgrades the entire hotel - it's that bad. There a few stained, soiled furniture pieces in front of the elevators that need to be removed also.

The beds linens, on the other hand, appeared to be updated and very clean. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was also clean and had all the standard amenities of hotels in this level.

The breakfast was satisfactory and all items were in plentiful supply.

The hotel met our basic needs - a clean bed to sleep in and a decent breakfast. It would get a higher rating from us if it addressed the security issue and the carpet.

  • Liked — Location, beds comfortable
  • Disliked — Security concerns, needs updating
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rev5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 32 in San Marcos
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Marcos
Hilton Garden Inn San Marcos
#5 of 32 in San Marcos
47 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn San Marcos
Holiday Inn San Marcos
#9 of 32 in San Marcos
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Near Texas State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
Address: 106 N Interstate 35, San Marcos, TX 78666-6860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn and Suites San Marcos hotel is conveniently located off I-35 near the largest outlet malls in Texas. Our hotel offers complimentary breakfast as well as free WiFi. Our contemporary hotel is the perfect place for you to stay to enjoy your San Marcos experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites - San Marcos
Hampton Inn & Suites - San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
San Marcos Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing