We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good stay in San Marcos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Alvin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Another good stay in San Marcos”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We had stayed at the hotel four years ago and were impressed with the service and the hotel. Without question, we choose to return and this time kids in tow. My 3 y/o and 1 y/o had fun in the pool and the refigerator in the room was perfect to keep their juice and milk cold. The staff was excellent and helpful. The breakfast was perfect for the kids and fresh. The room was clean and the halls were clean. The hotel said they were in teh middle of a remodel but you were not able to tell there was construction going on at the time of our stay. I am glad to see they are staying on top of keeping this hotel clean and up to date. Really like the fact they pass on non used items to a local Womens Shelter.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    151
    66
    13
    16
See reviews for
199
75
25
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Checked the San Marcos reviews and most value hotels in the area rated unclean. Found the Hampton very clean, full of amenities and very convenient to outlets stores. Great hot breakfast to fill up on before a day of shopping.

Only drawback is that hallways definitely reveal the high usage the place gets. Book early, this place fills up fast!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gravesbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed one night here and really enjoyed it. Nice, clean and quiet! Friendly front desk staff. I was a little concerned that we had been given a room right by the elevator on the 3rd floor but it proved to be so quiet I would never know the elevator was near by. The pool was fun too! We checked out the exercise room available though we didn't get around to using it. Breakfast included fresh cut fruit, cereal, bagels, english muffins, danishes, Yoplait yogurt, hard boiled eggs, muffins, omlets, bacon and a make-you-own belgian waffle bar. There was also a small little "store" next to the front desk where you can you buy anything you might have forgotten, from snacks to deodorant. Pleasant stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camille87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I was put up here for a trip, so I didn't pick this myself. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. The front desk person was friendly and welcoming. The lobby is nicely decorated, and the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was standard continental hotel breakfast with the addition of eggs and sausage - nothing to complain about.

For a basic hotel near the Interstate in San Marcos, this is a very good option.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank law_girl_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monterrey, mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We reserved two rooms and were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to a suite. Hotel is very well located, with several restaurants at walking distance. Clean rooms, good breakfast, and very good price. The weather didn't allow us to enjoy the pool, maybe next time. We love Hampton Inn beds. Thanks to the manager and personnel !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexicanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Previous reviews indicated a less than stellar stay but I was very impressed with this hotel. They were just finishing up a lobby remodel. The rooms were very clean with excellent a/c units, flat screen TVs with multiple channels and a good bed. The breakfast was exceptional with many choices and plenty of seating. I had a room facing the pool which I thought might be a disadvantage, noise-wise but with the a/c on it was fine. There are numerous restaurants around the hotel and the outlet malls are just a few exits down. I would sat there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The room was on the first floor and very moldy. It was also very small for a King Suite....not what I was expecting. My daughter is an asthmatic and had a very hard time breathing. It was not very clean, either. I was VERY surprised since I have always been happy when I stayed at other Hampton Inn's. Plus, when I was getting ready to leave, I called for a later checkout, just an extra half hour, and they refused. I have never, ever had this happen before. That morning I was awakened to a lot of loud walking and furniture moving, etc. above our room. I was not sure if this was from the maids' quarters that may have been above us or what, but it woke me around 8:00 in the morning and never stopped until we checked out at 12:00. Anyway, I would NOT recommend this hotel. It was a very unpleasant stay and way overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
4.4 mi away
Courtyard San Marcos
Courtyard San Marcos
#5 of 32 in San Marcos
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Marcos
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 32 in San Marcos
104 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn San Marcos
Holiday Inn San Marcos
#9 of 32 in San Marcos
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
Address: 106 N Interstate 35, San Marcos, TX 78666-6860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn and Suites San Marcos hotel is conveniently located off I-35 near the largest outlet malls in Texas. Our hotel offers complimentary breakfast as well as free WiFi. Our contemporary hotel is the perfect place for you to stay to enjoy your San Marcos experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites - San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
Hampton Inn And Suites - San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
San Marcos Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing