We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great BBQ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kip's Texas BBQ - CLOSED

Kip's Texas BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

It was just as I thought it would be great BBQ and not much more.

The owner waited us us, he had been in BBq business for 30 plus years.

We had been at outlets and did not want to go to place we could go to at home.

BBQ was really great and the Nanna Puddin was great!

They even had metal knives and forks rather than standard plastic ones!

Easy to get to from Outlets or on way to or from another place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank esp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

No decor or atmosphere, but we went for the BBQ! Very good! And included a free rib that was outstanding. Next time we'll get an order of ribs! So often the best BBQ, seafood, fried chicken, Thai, etc. are found in little places like this that put their emphasis on the food. Kip's is one of those! Will go back next time in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not as great as everyone says.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We went to this place because of all the good reviews on tripadvisor. Wasn't anything but a whole in the wall. Was not customer friendly. We basically had to figure out the procedure on our own. The food was cold and not all that great.The ribs were tough. Their sauce taste awful. The best way to describe it is that it taste like Ranch Style beans juice watered down with vinegar. We have decided not to go by tripadvisor anymore. This is not the first time we have been stuck but it will be the last.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Starvinartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, lousy service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

The food was really good . The cashier was very grumpy. I would go back again

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trumpetgenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great place in a easy to overlook spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We almost bypassed this spot due to its location in an off the access road mini-strip mall. We stopped in shortly before closing, but were greeted in a friendly manner and welcomed to come in and take our time. The food was as great as the people working--one of which happened to be Kip himself. The jalapeno cornbread was fantastice, but you better have your antacids handy if you get the pinto beans---very spicy!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank centralPALynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kip's Texas BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing