We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay was pleasant enough.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Galena, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay was pleasant enough.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here in June 2012 for 2 nights. There is not an elevator so the front desk was happy to change my room to a ground floor room. They warned me that the only room on the ground floor had issues with the t.v. but that they would be there to fix it, which they did. The toilet was making a horrid noise so I immediately reported it and they fixed it immediately. The staff was very friendly and seems to be comprised of the family that owns the hotel. The rooms were a bit shabby but they were very clean. There was an incident where the police had to be called on another patron but they handled it well. The pool was clean and the washer/dryer worked. All in all it was an uneventful stay and the hotel was adequate.

Room Tip: If you don't want to carry bags up stairs then ask for a ground floor room because there is no e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh p, General Manager at Red Roof Inn San Marcos, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feelings about our proparty.I feel sorry that ypur stay was
not the best that it could have.Please accept my apology.We took care of the problem you have faced.Please visit us again when you are in out area.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    29
    12
    10
    21
See reviews for
28
19
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Was disappointed in this Red Roof Inn. Walked in and asked for room non smoking any size bed ok. Rate she said was $69 and I asked for AAA discount, she then seemed perturbed because she then said your already getting it at good price. We walked into room and walked right out due to smell-mildew smell.
We asked for another room and all they had was 2 beds which she made sure to tell me they arent allowed to give that room type for same price as I had gotten for king. I dont care what happened to making guest comfortable and want to stay? She did end up giving room at same rate. That room had stains on carpet, shades on light fixtures broken, bathroom fan/light not working properly, overall bathroom dirty. Toilet needs caulked down it kept lifting when you got up. Furniture looked old and worn. Bed was comfortable. Id rather of spent little more for other hotels. Good location. No hot breakfast, no coffee pot. Did have microwave and fridge

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darlynnski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh p, General Manager at Red Roof Inn San Marcos, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest.

tahnk you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Red Roof inn San Marcos Tx.

I will make sure to share this comments with rest of our team.Feedback from our guest is alwayes welcome as we strive to continuously improve our quality of service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Place was dirty; the windows from our room did not have a lock and the screen was torn. The carpet was filthy as well as the bathroom floor. The trash had not be taken out of the room. Overall the pictures that described our room were misleading.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexaDavid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh p, Manager at Red Roof Inn San Marcos, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your experience.We are sorry about your uncomfortable stay at our motel.We already have a project coming in Jan 2013 to chang all the furniture and paint the rooms.please accept my apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

When we were looking for an inexpensive room at the last minute in San Marcos, we stumbled upon this place. It's a bit pricier on weekends ($89 for King bed) than some of the others, but I believe that it was well worth it. The rooms are interior-entry so it's fairly quiet and you don't have to worry about bugs and things creeping in under the door. The staff was friendly, and they have a small continental breakfast in the mornings. Overall, good experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAMU_Grad_Student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Red Roof Inn San Marcos, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

tahnk you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Red Roof inn San Marcos Tx.

I will make sure to share this comments with rest of our team.Feedback from our guest is alwayes welcome as we strive to continuously improve our quality of service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sicerly,

mahesh Patel
General Manager.
Red Roof Inn-san marcos,tx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
225 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We are redicard members of Red Roof so we get points for staying there and
eventually you can get a free nites stay.
This place had a pool and continental breakfast, booked solid while we were there
which tells you alot!
We were close enough that tubing down the river was close by and a wedding
in nearby Buda.
Our room also had a microwave and refrigerator.

Room Tip: get a room away from main entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marygrace58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh p, Owner at Red Roof Inn San Marcos, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our
hotel.We will make sure you will receive same friendly service and comfortable room.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My work has me driving through Texas once a month. San Marcos is a mid point between my accounts so this is where I stay for the night. I have stayed at this Red Roof every month for years. I can't remember exactly how many. There are several other motels on this side of I-35 but this is where I first stayed and I never once thought about staying anywhere else after that. The owners and staff are extra courteous and accommodating. The rooms are very clean with a fridge and a microwave. The water is softened too if you like that.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GregHoustonTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

we stayed on the 1st floor, facing away from I-35. We had low expectations, and we were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, with working A/C, and we had a good night's sleep.

Pros:
- location
- cost

Cons:
- small parking lot
- weak shower

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank conver2sations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson San Marcos
Howard Johnson San Marcos
#17 of 32 in San Marcos
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western San Marcos
Best Western San Marcos
#7 of 32 in San Marcos
230 reviews
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn - San Marcos
Days Inn - San Marcos
#18 of 32 in San Marcos
191 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn University near Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn San Marcos

Property: Red Roof Inn San Marcos
Address: 817 N Interstate 35, San Marcos, TX 78666-7035
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn San Marcos 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
San Marcos Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing