We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn San Marcos
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in San Marcos
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    92
    71
    46
    36
See reviews for
159
42
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have stayed in other hotels in San Marcus, Texas, and prefer this La Quinta. For an extra price, they let my dog stay with me. They professionally cleaned the carpets daily to remove pet hair, etc, and kept the room fresh and clean (no animal smell). They have an area to walk your dog and facilities to bag the poop which was free of any bugs that prey on animals. (well maintained). They place me in the same room every time I go to San Marcos, Texas which is the room for people traveling with pets. I have stayed in this same La Quinta when I left me dog at home and the rooms without pets are shinny clean, no smell, very quite and restful. It is mainly for families, adults with manners, and elderly needing special needs. They have in the room coffee, ironing boards, soap, tissue, fresh bed lenins, white bath lenins and are eager to please. I recommend this room around $75 per night. You will love the area with many things to do and see. The Tap Room on the square offers 26 different beers and grub with friendly atmosphere. The Texas Theater on the square has large dances for couples and singles of all ages. Lots of children things to do and great outlet shopping.
Hughes

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

This was a the only hotel that we found in San Marcos that is pet friendly with no additional fees for pets. The staff was friendly. The room was nice for the price. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills
Level Contributor
219 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

We often stay at La Quinta because our dog travels with us. The new ones are fine. This is an older non refurbished hotel. Hard to find. Friendly staff, but....live bug on bed (bedbug?)...staff said no reports of bugs but next morning the maintenance man told me that they would be fumigating the room and it was not the first report of bugs. Also several burn holes in blanket. Towels were worn and thin. Avoid this la Quinta.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

I like to start off with the something positive. Despite being next to the highway the room noise is minimal. The desk staff is friendly and helpful and the beds are very comfortable. That said this would not be my first choice for even an overnight stay. The hotel design is outdated, with exterior entry doors to the room which front on the parking lot. To me that's a bit of a security concern. Second, there were a number of timy bugs in the room. All dead mind you, but bugs nonetheless. The continental breakfast had all the standards - waffles, cereal, etc. But then the coffee maker didn't work. Probably an isolated occurrence, but still... All in all I don't think I would come back to this one.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXStevePen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

The staff has nothing to do with my rating. They were nice. I paid $90 to spend the night in this "motel" that wasn't worth half of that. Really, this is an over priced motel that has the bare minimums. The plastic cups in plastic, no microwave or mini fridge like priceline said. It really let me down. I am surprised that LaQuinta puts their name on this shack. Again, the staff seems to be holding their own, but really...it's worth $50 at the most!

Room Tip: Avoid the upstairs. Anything in the 200s. Only 3 stairs to the uppers. You will be doing some wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgonsoulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Marcos
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn - San Marcos
Quality Inn - San Marcos
#13 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
3.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#7 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
6.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn San Marcos

Property: La Quinta Inn San Marcos
Address: 1619 N Interstate 35, San Marcos, TX 78666-6735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn San Marcos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
La Quinta San Marcos
San Marcos La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing