We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expectd!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Summit Inn Hotel and Suites
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Reviewed August 30, 2007

My wife and I stayed here on the upper floor on the I -35 Hwy. side behind the Sonic Drive Inn.
The room was clean but the A/C Unit was in terrible condition and had gaps1/2" to I " wide along the top seeing outside.
We had to put towels in the gap just to keep the room cool.
We also noticed a gap under our room door that would let insects in.
Hotel cleanng staff had the exit blocked with their cooling fan and maid carts the next morning, considering the stairs were located on the opposite side going down then having to go through the cleaning staff hall way getting back to the other side were our vehicle was located.
Would we stay here again ? Most likely "not".

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ecduzit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Summit Inn Hotel and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 58 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2007

Check-in was quick and simple and desk staff was very friendly. Room was quiet and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RedFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2007

Stayed one night. Room (1st floor, highway side) was very noisy. Management refused to move us to another room. To be fair: the room was OK, and breakfast - above average. Still, the hotel does not do its basic function of providing a place to rest.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bezobraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Rochester, NH
14
Reviewed November 22, 2003

Where shall I begin, by starting to say "Please do not stay here!" Let's see...We stayed for 8 days and was woken at 12:00am and 12:30am to the fire alarm sounding off. Then the best part was when we had no water for two days. All hotel restaurants were closed, no showers...You get the point.Then I wanted to lounge out by the pool to get some sun and at 1pm, we were asked by maintenance to move because they have to set up for a 6:30pm party.But it's only 1? We were asked to move to a shaded section by the pool.Mmm...That didn't go over well. We finally got our water back but to compensate for water, we had no air conditioning for 2 days. As the front desk said "At least we are going thru a cold wave." OK...The best part was being woken by a bunch of drunks at 3 in the morning hanging out in the jacuzzi.I guess it's open 24 hours. No it's time to leave and we voiced our concerns once again.
The front attendant was helpful but he couldn't do anything because the computers were down!! Go figure. Computers normally crash at 5:30 in the morning from the overload. Ug....Whatever you do, stay away from the San Marcos!!! Your sanity depends on it. I can honestly say, this was the worst hotel I ever stayed at.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2003

I reserved this hotel with trepidation-we had never stayed at a Quality Inn before and I wasn't' sure what to expect. Surprisingly, this motel exceeded my expectations. Upon entering the hotel, the girls at the desk were friendly and welcoming. When I inquired about a local place to have dinner with my family they recommeded a place nearby and even gave me a map and marked the directions on it (and it was a good tip too!). The rooms were above average as well-not cramped-very clean-and included a microfridge, microwave and desk. Absolutely no complaints. The pool area and workout rooms were adequate, spacious, clean and convenient. The "free" breakfast was very nice too with lots of choices-pastries, eggs, bagels, sausages, juices, coffee, fruit, breads, waffles, 3 different cereals, etc. The entire motel was very clean and all the staff we encountered were friendly and polite. I recommended this motel to anyone who needs a nice place to stay in San Marcos.

21  Thank amifun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank R2D2-ags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErickaAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson San Marcos
Howard Johnson San Marcos
#18 of 32 in San Marcos
346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn - San Marcos
Days Inn - San Marcos
#19 of 32 in San Marcos
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn University near Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Near Texas State University
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites San Marcos
1.0 mi away
Best Western San Marcos
Best Western San Marcos
#10 of 32 in San Marcos
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Inn Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Inn Hotel and Suites

Address: 1433 N Interstate 35, San Marcos, TX 78666-7219 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range: $49 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Summit Inn Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Summit Inn Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel San Marcos
Quality Inn San Marcos
San Marcos Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing