We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“They were happy to move us to another room!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summit Inn Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Summit Inn Hotel and Suites
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in San Marcos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They were happy to move us to another room!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Good luck! They will happily move you to another room with the same results. After three attempts, we gave up. Might I recommend other accommodations if you're going to be in san Marcos. Remember. It's just that time of year for roaches!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cakbtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    10
    9
    25
See reviews for
19
10
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here with short notice to shop at the malls and to visit Texas State and Texas Lutheran. Location was an easy on and off of the highway but make no mistake this is a motel. If I could have given this property a 2 1/2 I would have. The clientel was a mix of students, famililes, and what appeared to be contract workers. At first, we were given a room by the pool. The pool seemed good and there were people swimming in it. We did not like the first room (it seemed unfinished) and the phone did not work so that was a no go. Other rooms around us seemed unfinished and in transition too. They moved us to the front of the hotel by parking. It seemed that the closer to the front of the hotel that you were the better. Our new room was definitely better. The carpet appeared to be somewhat new and the flooring in the bath areas seemed rather new too. It was tile made to look like wood flooring and it was clean. The flat screen tv was new (lots of channels to choose from) as was the refridgerator and the microwave. Two Queen beds were good to have and the room was a good size. We had a nonsmoking room and the wifi was included and definietly used by everyone in the room. The hotel is centrally located and a Sonic is next door; we walked there. The breakfast is mainly sugar and carbs (breads, bagels, muffins, cereals, juice, coffee, and waffles). We were on the bottom floor (close to our car) but people outside tended to talk and walk past our door. However, at night it was quiet and we were there on a weekend. The door stuck going in or out but closed securely. There was a washer and dryer and an ice machine that was helpful for our cooler. The a/c was cold and the price was right for us. The people in the office were nice and if I had to I would stay here again all things considered but I would insist on a room towards the front of the hotel. When we checked in there was no mention of a hotel remodel but there were rooms by the pool that had door handles missing and items piled in the room as if they were redoing the rooms.

Room Tip: Stay towards the front in a Non Smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSouthernBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This place more than satisfied my needs. I read the reviews before booking and was a bit nervous for the outcome. It seems to me that people want to get the most amount of luxury for the smallest price. If you want turndown service and a goodnight kiss, then go pay the $200/night it costs to stay at a luxury resort. I stayed a WEEK at Summit Inn and ALL of my needs were met. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. The breakfast was basic but delicious. Coffee, juice, muffins, toast, bagels, cereal, and the best hot waffles I've had in a long time. The location is great too. Right on I-35 and Aquarena Springs for easy access to town. If you're looking for comfortable but affordable accommodations, then this is a great pick.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I moved to San Marcos from Houston. Actually, I stopped here on my way to Austin. So, I stayed here one night for 37.99 and it was very well worth of money. The room was pretty clean. The AC and lights were working very fine.The breakfast was very nice. I left to Austin next day. But, I had to come back as to this San Marcos as i had apartment availability problems in Austin. So, I again stayed here for 5 more weeks and I got the best services that I can every imagine from any independent motel. The staff was very nice and responsive. They get me a really nice room near to the pool. I will surely suggest ppl to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Date of stay- 17/05/13. We paid 99$ and damn not worth the price. Reasons: 1.)room lightings not working( previous customer's reviews were right if we had only took it seriously).2.) NO DRAINS 3.) Top sheet stained with blood( what the hell!) 4.) poor breakfast ( we came down to have breakfast and staff took the bread and juices away, was grumpy and rushing to clear the table whilst were still eating. 5.) Staff needs customer relations training.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dashus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit I, Manager at Summit Inn Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Your feed back is very important for out Hotel. We will try our best to improve our service to meet your requirement for your next visit. I hope you will give us another chance to provide you with good service. I was not aware of this experience, while you were on property, other wise I would have done my best to take care of you. My staff is always available to fix minor error. If we were not able to fix the problem, we would have moved you to another room. For your convenience our break fast hours are 6:30 to 9:30 AM. Once again, thank you so much for your time and I will make sure I give my staff a proper training.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvalde, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

My family and I traveled to San Marcos for a wedding in Kyle, Texas. We did not have a room reserved. We stopped at the Summit Inn Hotel & Suites, Ms. Wendy was very helpful and gave us information for the location we needed to go to in Kyle. Room was nice and clean. Price was very reasonable. Had continental breakfast, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Thank you,
Patricia Perez
Uvalde, Texas

Room Tip: Downstair rooms are easy to get too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Unfortunately the best I can say about this motel is that we're leaving. No drains in the sink or tub, bathroom light didn't work, bedside light didn't work, air conditioner sounded like a B-52 bomber, we were given the wrong room key, towels were small, thin and rough and the toilet wasn't cleaned. But the TV, coffee maker and refrigerator did work.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson San Marcos
Howard Johnson San Marcos
#17 of 31 in San Marcos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn - San Marcos
Quality Inn - San Marcos
#12 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
#16 of 31 in San Marcos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn - San Marcos
Days Inn - San Marcos
#15 of 31 in San Marcos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites San Marcos
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN San Marcos
BEST WESTERN San Marcos
#7 of 31 in San Marcos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Inn Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Inn Hotel and Suites

Property: Summit Inn Hotel and Suites
Address: 1433 N Interstate 35, San Marcos, TX 78666-7219 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Summit Inn Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Summit Inn Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel San Marcos
Quality Inn San Marcos
San Marcos Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing