We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in San Marcos
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I had no problem with this hotel. Staff was friendly, room was clean, hotel was clean.
We got a late start on breakfast, so it was a bit picked over, but I expected that. Food was typically what you expect.
Request a room facing north, toward the university, for a much nicer view. Our friends had rooms facing south and it was the back of an old auto salvage/parts place. We had no highway noise issue.
We choose this hotel for an excellent rate, then found an even better one on Groupon. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a north facing room for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    102
    54
    31
    52
See reviews for
225
61
16
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I really wanted to like this hotel. The prices were good, and the size of the room was fantastic. We got a suite, because there were three of us, so we needed the pull-out couch and thought having a separate room would provide some privacy. It provided little, as the door to the bedroom had windows.
The first thing I noticed when we walked into our suite were the stains on the carpet. It didn't bother me that much, because it looked like they were just stains and the carpet had at least been vacuumed. Then I noticed the couch was also covered in stains. I'm a bit of a germaphobe so I try to look past these things, but I have a hard time if there's crusty evidence of the people who have been in our room before us.
I tried to ignore these things and walked into the bathroom. The floor made a crunchy sound when I stepped in, as if someone had just returned from the beach and left sand everywhere they stood. There's not a beach in San Marcos, however, so I'm not sure what it was on the floor.
I can say the king bed was nice, and I didn't see any evidence of bed bugs or other vermin. Although, I did notice a large amount of animal fur on the bedspread and honestly it didn't look like it had been washed recently. The only pillows in the room were feather pillows. Some people like feather pillows, some people don't. It's nice to have an alternative if you're needing something a bit more supportive.
The staff was friendly, and the breakfast was actually pretty good for hotel breakfast. The breakfast room was beautiful and if our room had been up to that standard we would have stayed there the following nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Except for the noise from the highway (and every hotel in San Marcos, Texas borders I-35), this hotel was not different from any other Country Inn and Suites. At least this hotel does not face the highway, but is perpendicular to it. (...although the cookies out front were as hard as rocks.....)

Room Tip: Get as far away from the highway as possilbe
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowzitMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoakum
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Ive stayed at this property several times. My first experience was with a friend who has a service animal - was surprised when they back charged me with a pet fee without informing me at checkout, (used reward nights). After some lengthy conversation with corporate they quickly refunded.

Stayed again this December, of course on points, the property is starting to show use and poor maintenance practices. Attached is a photo of the door separating the living from bed room. You can see that no one has checked the quality of workmanship of the painter. 15 min with a blade would have cleaned this up, not sure how long its been that way but I do intend to go back and re-visit this room just to see.

The property is in a great location south of the city and very near to shopping, is very quiet as it sits back a ways from the freeway.

Staff are usually out "assisting other guests" read out back smoking. This was seen on both 1st and 2nd shift.

Breakfast is great and variety was great.

The quality of sleep fantastic - bed and amenities comfy.

Room Tip: Top floor is best as you dont hear the other guests above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed the designated employee smoking areas with our team. I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future, by eliminating all smoking in front of property by employees. We've also instructed the maintenance department to clean up the paint off the glass door.
We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Pablo G. Palomino
Front Office Manager
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at other motels in the area and they were good. However, the Country Inn is a wonderful gem! From the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out the service was fantastic! The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The breakfast was great with a nice variety of offerings to choose. Also their indoor pool was just the right temperature.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We overnighted here on a cross country trip. The room was clean and comfortable. The room was quiet. The hotel was conveniently located. A very nice breakfast was included.

We would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pombia, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This property is very clean (spotless), well maintained, and quiet. The breakfast is hearty with selections for the traditional or the healthy appetites and is well supplied. It is our go-to place when we visit our two sons attending Texas State.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time review our hote through tripadvisor. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,

Pablo G. Palomino
Front Office Manager
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
512-392-8111 ext. 603
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 31 in San Marcos
96 reviews
3.7 mi away
Courtyard San Marcos
Courtyard San Marcos
#5 of 31 in San Marcos
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Marcos
Holiday Inn San Marcos
#9 of 31 in San Marcos
40 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Marcos
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
Address: 1560 S Interstate 35, San Marcos, TX 78666-6023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in San Marcos, TX is the perfect choice for discerning guests. The Country Inn & Suites offers business and leisure travelers all the comforts of home and office. Our hotel's breakfast is second to none, featurings five different and equally delicious breakfast zones. Guests can enjoy our heated indoor pool and spa, 24-hour Business Center and state-of-the-art-Fitness Center with free weights. All of our Guestrooms feature high-speed Internet, wifi, cable TV, a microwave, refrigerator and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
Country Inn And Suites San Marcos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing