We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Seedy. Creepy.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn San Marcos

Knights Inn San Marcos
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn San Marcos to your Saves list
Knights Inn San Marcos
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 N I H 35, San Marcos, TX 78666   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in San Marcos
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Seedy. Creepy.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Breakfast is coffee, artificial juice, 2 kinds of cereal and muffins or danish (in a case that needs to be cleaned). The lady at the front desk was nice. The hotel is on the frontage road, and next to I35, so there is traffic noise, but it seems minimal. Train can be heard but is minimal noise as well. Outside my room is the squeaky staircase-that made the most noise. The AC has a funky smell. The smell of the cleaning supplies/air freshener they use is overpowering. There is a flat, not fitted sheet on the bed. The tub does not drain well. The toilet does not have a cover. There is a microwave and mini fridge. I reserved my room site unseen for a week. I am taking a course with local law enforcement. They laughed when I told them where I am staying and told me to get out of here. It's the kind of room where I won't take my shoes off. Although no one has bothered me, I think I will upgrade to a different hotel, where I feel comfortable taking a shower. I drove around town a bit tonight-all the other hotels are packed. There are 5 cars in the parking lot here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    0
    8
    9
See reviews for
9
4
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Requested nonsmoking and got smoking. room was dated and in need of top to bottom remodel. Linins and towels were very worn and needed replacement. ok for a single guy, but would not take the family there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckster75
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I guess waiting till last minute on the last holiday of the summer is not a good idea. Got this room because nothing else available. Needs updating bad. Paint on door peeling. Microwave rusting inside. frig was not cold. Floor was uneven. needed a good thorough cleaning everywhere. furniture was about to fall apart; one chair had fabric so dirty I would not sit in it. Last time they did paint it was very sloppy. TV was too small compared to what I have seen elsewhere. Only found one spider. bedding was very worn. I guess this what 90 bucks gets these days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buckster75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

First, let me say that the young girl who worked the front desk was a sweetheart. She smiled a lot and was very courteous. She gave me the code to get on wi-fi which worked well. Now on to the not so positive stuff. It seems that the owner has no intention of keeping up his motel. It is in need of so many things I almost don't know where to start. This place needs new everything. The paint, the linens, every part of the building that I can think of is in disrepair. It wasn't necessarily dangerous, unless maybe you have small children. Where to start...there was an extra lamp in my room for no apparent reason. Two out of four light bulbs were not working in the lamps. There was a flat sheet on the bottom of the bed instead of a fitted sheet. One of the bed linens--sheet or bedspread, can't remember--was stained. The carpet is disgusting. I was in a smoking room so I understand the need to mask the smell of cigarettes. I have to say I am pretty sensitive when it comes to smells, but the cleaner used in the room made me nauseated. The picture on the television was horrible--replace it please. If this room had been $40, I would have expected this type of situation. But, I paid $76. While this is not expensive by any means, I could have saved $20 staying at the Motel 6 nearby. And my experience with Motel 6 tells me it would have been cleaner and in better repair. I was only in town to take some tests at the university over a two day period and work on graduate work. My expectations were not very high. But, I use expedia often and hoped for something better than this. Unless you must stay in San Marcos for an event and this is the only cheap place to stay, I would absolutely stay somewhere else. I am projecting here, but the owner definitely needs to get his greedy a$$ out to this motel and fix it. I only know that the owner is a man because his name is in the lobby. Also, maybe the continental breakfast is good??? I "burned the midnight oil" doing homework and didn't get up in time to see.

Room Tip: My tip is do not stay here unless you are very desperate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKFWMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I had stayed there over the weekend to enjoy the Outlets as well as taking my kids to Schlitterbahn. The location was great and all hotels closer by were charging a large sum above the Knights Inn. Hotel staff was great and were very helpful with directions and places to eat. Rooms were great for its value and the showers had awesome pressure. Rooms were clean and slept comfortably.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Floor and bathroom are old and dirty. Sheets smelled musty along with room and Air barely worked! DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patjp38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lubbock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

the best pool was clean and very sparkling room was great had a microwave fridge clean towels.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn San Marcos
Days Inn San Marcos
#15 of 31 in San Marcos
3.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn - San Marcos
Quality Inn - San Marcos
#13 of 31 in San Marcos
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson San Marcos
Howard Johnson San Marcos
#17 of 31 in San Marcos
3.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
#16 of 31 in San Marcos
3.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN San Marcos
BEST WESTERN San Marcos
#7 of 31 in San Marcos
3.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn San Marcos

Property: Knights Inn San Marcos
Address: 801 N I H 35, San Marcos, TX 78666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn San Marcos 1.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Knights Inn San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing