We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for a Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in San Marcos
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Value for a Great Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because it was the closest to the softball park where our daughter and her team were playing for the weekend and we were not disappointed at all! The staff was very accommodating and friendly. When a large group, such as a softball team of 9-11 year olds and families, arrives you would expect some confusion or hassle but not here! The front desk clerks were friendly and very helpful. The room we stayed in was a King Suite and it worked great for our family of 3. The room was well-appointed, clean and comfortable. We were very pleased with the variety and quality of the breakfast that was served. The girls especially like the pancake maker. :) The location was good, close to a variety of restaurants, shops and the outlet mall. I would definitely stay here next time we are in San Marcos.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessikah S, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Tiffani,

Thank you so much for this detailed review! We are so happy you had a nice stay and look forward to having you and your family back at our property.

Thank You,
Jessikah S.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    130
    71
    30
    18
See reviews for
195
54
28
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hotel staff went over and above to make us feel comfortable. We had mentioned our luggage didn't make our connection and would be delivered later. They handed us a very nice care bag in case the luggage didnt arrive as well as some snacks. Free breakfast is a great extra and we went every morning. We've stayed at this hotel twice before and would definitely go back again. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessikah S, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Laura,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express as your hotel in San Marcos. We greatly appreciate your positive review of our property. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon!

Thank You,

Jessikah S.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
305 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went to go shopping at the outlet malls for a head start on Christmas. Perfect timing I might add. Liked this price as the Embassy Suites was WAY up there. I don't think this hotel was worth the $104. that we paid. Possibly a $80. room. Good Location, Comfortable Beds, but I bumped it down to a 3 from a 4 for the price. I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metaksams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessikah S, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very happy you chose to stay with us. We are constantly performing updates and renovations to this property. We do hope that you choose us in the future and don't hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay of more value.

Thanks,

Jessikah S.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have stayed at several hotels in San Marcos. The hotel is conveniently located to the college and shopping. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable and the service is good. I will definitely be returning to the San Marcos HIE.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Mommyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessikah S, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review. We look forward to your next visit in San Marcos. Let us know if there is any thing we can do to make your next stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Marcos even more enjoyable than your last!

Sincerely,

Jessikah S.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

While the hotel staff did their best to keep the hotel clean, the state of disrepair obviously made it difficult. The hotel lobby and halways had a terrible mildew smell. Although the bed linens were white and clean, they were rough and thin. The bedside lights did not work, the toilet ran constantly, the shower did not drain, and the bathroom tile had huge gaps where the grout used to be. Overall, very dissapointing and couldn't wait to check out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Somer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Somer F,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry that our hallways and lobby smelt of mildew and that some items in your room were not working. It is our regret that you were not satisfied with the quality of the room your received. Please accept my sincere apologies for falling short your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

A group of moms and high school teens shared rooms. We found the rooms comfortable and clean. The air conditioning was especially nice this time of year. The hot breakfast was excellent and contained several options. The location is near just off of the freeway and near entertainment and eateries. Overall, very good visit, but a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Def a good place to stay,room was very nice and comfortable.Great location right next to lubys,red lobster & chili's.Yummy breakfast & lots to choose from.only little complain I had was someone not controlling their kids.running up and down the hallway,but other than that it was a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginalove254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
2.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Courtyard San Marcos
Courtyard San Marcos
#5 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos

Property: Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos
Address: 108 IH-35 North, San Marcos, TX 78666 (Formerly San Marcos Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Marcos
#3 Business Hotel in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
Holiday Inn San Marcos
San Marcos Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing