We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveler rating
183
150
85
36
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
183
150
85
36
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskac unitnice hotela great staywaffleswould stay againquick tripred lobsterhill countrybeds were comfortableoutdoor poolbusiness tripclerkgravytxmattressaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
430 - 435 of 477 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have stayed at several hotels in San Marcos. The hotel is conveniently located to the college and shopping. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable and the service is good. I will definitely be returning to the San Marcos HIE.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Mommyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessikah S, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review. We look forward to your next visit in San Marcos. Let us know if there is any thing we can do to make your next stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Marcos even more enjoyable than your last!

Sincerely,

Jessikah S.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

While the hotel staff did their best to keep the hotel clean, the state of disrepair obviously made it difficult. The hotel lobby and halways had a terrible mildew smell. Although the bed linens were white and clean, they were rough and thin. The bedside lights did not work, the toilet ran constantly, the shower did not drain, and the bathroom tile had huge gaps where the grout used to be. Overall, very dissapointing and couldn't wait to check out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Somer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Somer F,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry that our hallways and lobby smelt of mildew and that some items in your room were not working. It is our regret that you were not satisfied with the quality of the room your received. Please accept my sincere apologies for falling short your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

A group of moms and high school teens shared rooms. We found the rooms comfortable and clean. The air conditioning was especially nice this time of year. The hot breakfast was excellent and contained several options. The location is near just off of the freeway and near entertainment and eateries. Overall, very good visit, but a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Def a good place to stay,room was very nice and comfortable.Great location right next to lubys,red lobster & chili's.Yummy breakfast & lots to choose from.only little complain I had was someone not controlling their kids.running up and down the hallway,but other than that it was a great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginalove254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is the poorest of the HI Expresses I have stayed in. The staff while generally very nice do not seem to care about the upkeep of the hotel. Rooms are falling apart and are generally dingy. Stay next door. Not worth the $129.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trackcoach248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews