We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have stayed at several hotels in San Marcos. The hotel is conveniently located to the college and shopping. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable and the service is good. I will definitely be returning to the San Marcos HIE.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Mommyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessikah S, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review. We look forward to your next visit in San Marcos. Let us know if there is any thing we can do to make your next stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Marcos even more enjoyable than your last!

Sincerely,

Jessikah S.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    136
    73
    33
    19
See reviews for
213
55
30
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willis, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

While the hotel staff did their best to keep the hotel clean, the state of disrepair obviously made it difficult. The hotel lobby and halways had a terrible mildew smell. Although the bed linens were white and clean, they were rough and thin. The bedside lights did not work, the toilet ran constantly, the shower did not drain, and the bathroom tile had huge gaps where the grout used to be. Overall, very dissapointing and couldn't wait to check out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Somer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Somer F,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry that our hallways and lobby smelt of mildew and that some items in your room were not working. It is our regret that you were not satisfied with the quality of the room your received. Please accept my sincere apologies for falling short your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

A group of moms and high school teens shared rooms. We found the rooms comfortable and clean. The air conditioning was especially nice this time of year. The hot breakfast was excellent and contained several options. The location is near just off of the freeway and near entertainment and eateries. Overall, very good visit, but a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Def a good place to stay,room was very nice and comfortable.Great location right next to lubys,red lobster & chili's.Yummy breakfast & lots to choose from.only little complain I had was someone not controlling their kids.running up and down the hallway,but other than that it was a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginalove254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is the poorest of the HI Expresses I have stayed in. The staff while generally very nice do not seem to care about the upkeep of the hotel. Rooms are falling apart and are generally dingy. Stay next door. Not worth the $129.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trackcoach248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my teenage son while my daughter attended Texas State University Orientation. The location was great for us. Only a few minute drive to the campus, a few minutes from the Outlet malls, and about 30-40 minutes to Six Flags Fiesta Texas. The staff was friendly and efficient, the room was clean and nicely sized. Free breakfast is a nice service so you don't have to immediately in the morning start worrying about finding place to eat. The variety was typical: pastries, various types of bread, cereal, sausage, eggs, bananas. My only complaint was our last morning we arrived for breakfast about 9:15 (it was open until 10), and the selection wasn't nearly as good. The sausage was gone, only 1 or 2 pastries left, the eggs ice cold. If I am told breakfast is until 10:00, I expect to have the same selection as the people who arrive earlier in the morning. We would stay here again, on our next visit to San Marcos.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texasgirl219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We're staying here and going to Schlitterbahn tomorrow. It's close by to all the hill country attractions. Good service, bathroom was cramped and toilet clogged very easily. We were on the third floor and had a non smoking room but it reeked of smoke from the floor below us and made my eyes itch. Pool was relaxing and clean. Rooms and sheets are clean. Bed is lumpy from the bed protector and too firm. Not sure if we will come back, only if we can be sure the room was away from the smoking section.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
2.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Marcos
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 32 in San Marcos
104 reviews
4.4 mi away
Courtyard San Marcos
Courtyard San Marcos
#6 of 32 in San Marcos
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos

Property: Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos
Address: 108 N Interstate 35, San Marcos, TX 78666-6860 (Formerly San Marcos Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Marcos
#3 Business Hotel in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
Holiday Inn San Marcos
San Marcos Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing